Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! The first time making it, I didn't have the flax or wheat germ and just used xtra whl wht flour for flax and ground almonds for the wheat germ. I followed the suggestions of others and added about a 1/2c extra of both buttermilk and pumpkin to avoid dryness. I also increased choc chips to 3/4c and sprinkled sugar on top of the muffins. I read that they don't rise much so I didn't bother filling the muffins cup just half way--I filled them until they were rounded (using all my mix in just 12 muffins) This made perfect muffins that actually rised a good 1/2inch over the top of the cup. I would definetly recommend spraying the cups as this recipe doesn't have any fat and the muffins stick to the paper if you don't! I have all the ingredients now and will be trying this recipe out again today as it is written with the exception of still adding extra buttermilk/pumpkin. I am also going to keep the chocolate chips at the recommended 1/2c as increasing them last time made my muffins seem too much like Otis Spunkmeyer (delicious but less healthy). I love the crackled appearance the sprinkled sugar gave the muffin tops---that technique is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I usually dont care for chocolate muffins. Most sweet muffins taste like greasy cake to me. But this was totally different not greasy at all with the perfect amount of sweet! I made this exactly as the recipes states and it came out perfect. It also made exactly as many muffins as the recipe states. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used dark cocoa and sour cream instead of pumpkin (but will try pumpkin when I have some). These muffins are really yummy and really don't taste like they have all that good stuff in them... impressive! Oh, I also used only 1 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These were awesome. My family couldn't get enough of them! I followed the recipe exactly with no substitutions. With the batter, I was able to fill 1 - 12 cup muffin tin AND a 24 cup mini muffin tin... which came in really hadny with my little ones. The muffins turned out really moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
They’re dry and grainy and not super flavorful. I’m all for healthy, which is why I made them, but I’m disappointed and kind of frustrated I spent the time to make them. I was going to serve them to family, but I don’t really think they’ll go over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Love these! Will be keeping a supply of these in the freezer. Extremely picky toddler likes them and I don't feel bad letting him have these chocolate muffins for breakfast or snack because they're so healthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I absolutely love these muffins! I made mine with a few changes for personal taste and what I had on hand but I am sure the original is very good too. I used whole grain white flour for the flour, substituted instant oats for the wheat germ, added another 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder instead of the cinnamon, and used 1 cup of regular sized chocolate morsels instead of 1/2 cup of mini morsels. They are very moist, chewy, and decadent- will definately be making again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were wonderful and filling! I made them for my daughter's kindergarten class and they all loved them. The only changes I made was instead of flax seed I substituted wheat bran. I also used milk with 2 tablespoons vinegar instead of buttermilk (I was out of white milk and used chocolate milk instead!). My daughter is the pickiest eater and she loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was a delicious recipe even after I tweaked it to use up the ingredients I had in the fridge. I used vanilla soy milk, to which I had added a tablespoon of vinegar, instead of buttermilk. Instead of pumpking puree I used pureed pears. Lastly, I used a cup of regular sized chocolate chips instead of minis. Baked up moist and tasty - I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by berrysweet
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Although I have eaten better chocolate muffins, I still gave this a 5 because of it's health factor. I didn't even realize there was no oil until after I baked it. I didn't have enough flax seed so I used 1/2 c. and upped the wheat germ to 3/4 c. I also opened a huge can of pumpkin so I threw in 1 c. of puree. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. I finished baking in about 22 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States