Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Super awesome - loved by my 5yr olds (both the making and eating), which says a lot :). 20 mins at 400 was perfect. Didn't have buttermilk or wheat germ so upped flour and used regular milk ... not sure how they'd be different, but they were great made our way :). Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I wanted to bake something on a snowy day, and tried these. I really like them! I used 2 very ripe bananas instead of pumpkin, and oatmeal instead of wheat germ because I didn't have any. I also used a mixture of yogurt and milk instead of buttermilk. I had to add about 1/2 cup water because the mixture seemed too dry. Once I filled the 12 muffin cups, they looked way too full so I took a little scoop out of each one and filled a dozen mini-muffins. The minis baked in 10 minutes, and the regular size were done in 18 minutes. Both my husband and I enjoyed them. They were nice and chocolatey and pretty moist. I thought they were plenty sweet. I think next time I'll use smaller scoops and make 2 dozen, and add a few walnuts and another banana. Now I can have chocolate cake for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These are awesome! I was looking for an easy double chocolate muffin recipe that I could tweak to make healthier - this one is already tweaked! I did substitute some white flour for some of the whole wheat flour and some oil and applesauce for the pumpkin. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Although the ingredients seemed a bit strange, I trusted the high reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using only 1/4 cup wheat germ cause that's all I had left. I don't understand how others reviewed this highly. These were flavorless and odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yeah, yeah, I subbed more whole wheat flour for ground flax seed, left out the wheat germ, cocoa & chips. 'Still giving a good rating. With those changes, I think it's a matter of preference than the actual recipe. Huh? :D 'Meaning I don't care for chocolate & pumpkin/spices together - so I didn't add them. K? :) Review: Good muffins, not very spicy or all that pumpkin-y, but good. Surprisingly moist. 'Added 1/2t salt. 'May make again upping & varying the spices, which is almost unheard of from me since I'm one of those "weirdos" that wants pumpkin pie, muffins, etc to taste like pumpkin not a "spice whatever" with pumpkin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Am I the only one who was surprised that there was not any salt in this recipe? Not looking at the recipe, I went to my cabinet and got out all my usual muffin ingredients - baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, and salt. Double check - whaaaa? No salt? So I added some anyway, 1/2 tsp. I really think it helped bring out the sweetness a little more. I didn't have any pumpkin on hand, so I subbed banana baby food. :/ I wasn't going to let lack of pumpkin keep me from making this recipe. Everyone loved it, from the babies to the grandmas and everyone in the middle. The consistency was soooo good, almost fudgy. This is going in the recipe box for sure! Edit: I made these again, this time with pumpkin. Now, I love me some pumpkin, no doubt. However, I have to say that I'll make it with banana next time. It added a depth of sweetness and flavor that rounded these muffins out. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was a tasty muffin, yet I would like to tweak it to make it more moist. I followed the recipe exactly, and I must say that the batter was easy to work with, and the muffins did not stick to my (greased) muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Really great & kids loved them too! I didn't have pumpkin so I substituted applesauce - turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This has to be the most decadent amazing muffins I've ever made. A definate keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These are great - they are exactly what the ingredients profess them to be; a chocolaty healthy(ish) muffin! I love that there is no oil in them, and lots of good heart healthy whole grains The mini chocolate chips are great to "discover" as you're enjoying the muffins. I followed ingredients exactly as written and baked 20 minutes and they came out great. Good for a breakfast treat or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States