Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Excellent! I brought this to a St. Patrick's Day party b/c I am not a big fan of Corned Beef. I too dialed down the oil to 1/3rd cup, and upped the whiskey to about 5 Tbsp. I also tenderized the steak with a needled tenderizer since I only marinated for about 4 hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I added about 2 T of brown sugar to this recipe and it was amazing! Definitely the best flat iron marinade I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Out of this world good! Meat was so flavorful and oh so tender! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is our "go-to" recipe for flat iron steaks. Thanks, Alta. This is a wonderful recipe!!! We usually buy 2 steaks, each about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2lbs, place in separate plastic bags with marinade for each and put one in the freezer for later use. Then, just thaw and throw on the grill - it's already done marinating! We've also varied the amounts of whiskey - and have used up to 2/3 cup for 2 steaks. Try adding a little honey to the marinade for a hint of sweetness. Once cooked and rested, slice the steak against the grain or it won't be tender. I usually serve this with roasted potatoes (using small red potatoes leaving the skins on, cutting in half or 4ths depending on the size, garlic powder, kocher salt, black pepper and chopped, fresh rosemary - roast @ 400 degrees ~ 20-25min on a non-stick pan). This is so yummy. Our company loved it! Oh, and if there are any leftovers, this steak is delicious on a romaine lettuce salad with tomatoes, feta cheese, thin-sliced red onions, greek olives and dressing. Heaven on a plate!! Try this steak - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Outstanding flavor! I used bourbon, for there was no Irish whiskey in the house, and omitted the rosemary - it tends to overpower. The meat was juicy, flavorful; my husband, teenaged son & 10 yo grandson fought for the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Flat iron steak is a staple in my kitchen but this was the least flavorful marinade I've ever used. I will not make it again. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The BEST steak/beef marinade I've ever had. My mom (who doesn't like to cook) asked for the recipe she could hardly contain herself!! I've made it a few different times, and I always add a little bit more whiskey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I loved this and have made it twice. The changes I made were to use a lot more whiskey, marinade it for a day or two, and to use the oven (since a grill was not available.) I cooked it at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I also used Flank Steak since I did not have Flat Iron available. I am hoping to try this with Flat Iron the next time I cook it. Everyone loved this, I used it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Has a bite to it! People who don't like spicy food probably won't enjoy it as much as those of us that do. Very good and different option because I was looking for something different from sweet-salty or tex-mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States