Irish Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out to be a cookie recipe and not a cake. Also, it was gooey, so I cooked it for 60 minutes, still too gooey, then put it back in for another 15 minutes and it came out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesleyann Pedro
Photo by Lucy Shakeshaft
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Just made this cake, smells amazing! It was easy to prepare aswell. I was worried about the cookie dough texture until I folded in the egg whites which made the batter smooth. I won't be doing the glaze this time as I need to transport it to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Shakeshaft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I LOVE this cake. Every St. Patrick's day my husband anticipates the corned beef, etc.; this cake is my reward for making that vile stuff for him. As to the cake, I make it exactly as written. Having made this several years, I have noticed that there is a significant taste difference depending on the quality of whiskey used. This year I used Redbreast pot distilled whiskey (aged 12 years), and it was out of this world (albeit a bit pricey - if you like whiskey, though, it's absolutely worth it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really tasty! I added dried currants as I didn't have quite enough golden raisins. I think next time I'd soak them in a shallow dish, rather than a bowl, for better soaking. I added more Whiskey per the suggestions. Nice! I forgot to top with powdered sugar, oops! That would have helped with presentation. I poked holes in the cake with a toothpick prior to drizzling with the glaze (which I made with half the recommended sugar). That helped with moistness. The cake goes nicely with a bit of whipped cream, and tastes great the next day too, for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
most excellent. i would add alittle more whiskey. the beverage best for this dish is a liter of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Made this cake yesterday and was not impressed. The batter wa as thick as cookie dough and it was a very dry cake. Had to bake longer because it was so thick. I had thought of using a bigger pan when I was preparing this, but after making it, I have just decided not to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Nice cake not too overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
We loved like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
My St. Patrick's Day party guests loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States