Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Nice and easy. I would add an extra 1/2 lb of lamb stew meat next time, as it was just enough for 4 smallish appetites, and there was a lot of liquid as well. I added some dried dill and rosemary, but agree with other reviewers that the fresh parsley is a must. I also substituted 1/2 cup of beef broth with 1/2 cup of Guiness stout. I would also add extra carrot as one was not enough. We ate this with Colcannon and Irish soda bread for St. Patrick's Day. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this twice/ It's EXCELLENT as it is, but I added a dash of red wine to the beef stock first time...GREAT recipes here most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Delicious! I cooked on High for 4 hours and added a sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Thought it was a bit boring the first time. Did some adjustment the 2nd time. Used red small potaoes (whole). Dredged the lamb cubes in flour, salt and pepper and browned in Canola oil in the bottom of the cast iron casserole. Added 1 tsp thyme, 2 tsp oregano 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. To the beef broth I added 1 tbl of tomato paste and the rest of the flour and salt and fresh ground pepper from the dredged lamb cubes. 30 minutes before finished I added 2 cups of baby bella mushrooms (sliced) and the fresh parsley and a can of dark beer. Removed the lid for 15 minutes in the oven to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This stew is solid fare and so stupid-easy to make! I baked it the two hours and then for another 45 minutes because while the potatoes were cooked through the onions weren't wilted enough. Suggestions and modifications: I halved the potato and doubled the carrots, and added an extra stalk of celery (three for a doubled recipe). Even with those proportions it has plenty of potato. My only suggestion is not to go easy on the salt or pepper - perhaps because I used low-sodium broth but I needed a lot of both spices to make up for it - also a bit of extra parsley and some white pepper didn't hurt. Love that you just add each item as you chop it into the pan - no prep bowls needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I would give this a 4.5. Easy to put together. Used low sodium beef stock and wonderful lamb, we enjoyed the meal very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I loved this it was perfect for a chilly day really warms the tummy.... dont forget to scrub your potatoes realllly well before adding them to your stew, just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zairerose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I make this every St. Patrick's Day. Sometimes I use a beef bouillon and add wine as the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
It was amazing! I added a little bit of rosemary. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States