Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great stew recipe. I like to add about half a bouillon cube to the water to add flavour, as it can be a little bland without it. I put the potatoes in a bit before the other vegetables to let them cook longer without mushing the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Sanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
How about you all quit posting your adjustments and just make the recipe as it is written? I can't trust your reviews when you do not follow the recipe. Ridiculous. You want to make adjustments? Write your own recipe. SMH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great. Based on other reviews, I've put parsnips in later so they didn't turn to mush. Have used lamb and/or sirloin, and added a mix of water, beef broth, and Guinness beer. Added garlic too. The last time I made it I put an entire can of Guinness in the stew along with beef broth and my meat was SO much more tender than it has been in the past. The taste was much more robust. Have played with proportions: more carrots, potatoes, fresh garden rosemary, left out leeks last time b/c the store didn't have them. Have thickened it up by putting in more potatoes than in recipe and then taking them out when soft, with a little liquid, and blending before returning to stew. We always enjoy this, but the last time (with the Guinness, beef broth and garlic) was the best time yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My mother and father loved this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chase City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
good recipe. Didn't care for the parsnips but that's just me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalemcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
A new family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Mmmm, son this was bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Took this to a party and got rave reviews. I also used beef and cooked it a little longer before adding the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I used Angus beef stew meat (it's just a preferred taste over lamb), but an Irish Stew is traditionally made with lamb. I would suggest adding boullion or stock, rather than just water, for more flavor. Also, I add 1/2 C. of Guinness with the stock and let it simmer on low. Great with a loaf of Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I've been making Irish stew for years, but was looking to change it up. I looked at several recipes online, but liked yours the best.It wasn't until I saw your name that I knew this would be the best stew as my mother's name was Ita(she was from Derry City). It is such an unusual name,I just had to say hello. I'm making the stew tonight and will eat it with a smile on my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States