Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great. Based on other reviews, I've put parsnips in later so they didn't turn to mush. Have used lamb and/or sirloin, and added a mix of water, beef broth, and Guinness beer. Added garlic too. The last time I made it I put an entire can of Guinness in the stew along with beef broth and my meat was SO much more tender than it has been in the past. The taste was much more robust. Have played with proportions: more carrots, potatoes, fresh garden rosemary, left out leeks last time b/c the store didn't have them. Have thickened it up by putting in more potatoes than in recipe and then taking them out when soft, with a little liquid, and blending before returning to stew. We always enjoy this, but the last time (with the Guinness, beef broth and garlic) was the best time yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My mother and father loved this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chase City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
good recipe. Didn't care for the parsnips but that's just me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalemcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
A new family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Mmmm, son this was bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Took this to a party and got rave reviews. I also used beef and cooked it a little longer before adding the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I used Angus beef stew meat (it's just a preferred taste over lamb), but an Irish Stew is traditionally made with lamb. I would suggest adding boullion or stock, rather than just water, for more flavor. Also, I add 1/2 C. of Guinness with the stock and let it simmer on low. Great with a loaf of Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I've been making Irish stew for years, but was looking to change it up. I looked at several recipes online, but liked yours the best.It wasn't until I saw your name that I knew this would be the best stew as my mother's name was Ita(she was from Derry City). It is such an unusual name,I just had to say hello. I'm making the stew tonight and will eat it with a smile on my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this recipe last St. Patrick's day, with a few changes. I don't eat mammals, so I used turkey instead of lamb. And I substituted 2-3 bottles of Guinness for the water, which was way too much! The kids really seemed interested in it until they tasted the Guinness. I will make this again with less Guinness (or maybe no Guinnness at all) for St. Patrick's Day. Aside from this, it seemed like a good, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was very good and simple. A little bland for my taste personally, but I added fresh garlic cloves crushed and it gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Owl Fanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States