Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Not bad. just needed to make a few adjustments:) Putting the parsnips in so early made them go to mush! Was that the point? hope not. I would suggest putting them in at the same time as pots. And for the pots I put them in 35 minutes before I like mine to be cooked and soft throughout. I also suggest preparing this meal at least an hour before you need it. Stew always tastes better when left and then warmed up!!! promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
If there was a rating higher than 5 stars, this recipe deserves it. I followed the directions pretty close to start, but added the parsnips with the potatoes (following other comments). In addition I soaked the lamb in buttermilk overnight to take the "gamey" edge off. After beginning the stew on the stove, when I added the potatoes and parsnips I put it in the slow cooker for the day (I used the "keep warm" setting for the 12 hours I had to be at work). Got home and it was perfect! Fed it to a British native and he raved about it. Great with a spinach salad and crusty bread with a smooth Merlot. We will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I've said it before and it still holds true: this recipe is my gold standard for Irish stew. I made it for St. Patrick's Day dinner this weekend, and my family ate every bit--even the parsnips. Of course, I didn't tell them about the parsnips until later. Now they know they like 'em! Just a couple of notes: next time I'll cook a big chunk of parsnip and carrot with the lamb, but I'll add fresh parsnip and carrot later on so they won't disintegrate. Also, I sear the meat in batches and skim the stew as it simmers. Thanks for a great recipe, Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good stew. I did more changes than most of the reviewers: -I used beef sirloin because I couldn't find any lamb that looked good. -I doubled the amount of onions, carrots, and parsnips. I also used extra potato but not quite double. -I used 6 cups of water and added a large beef bouillon cube. -I added one can of Guinness. -The original simmer included the beef, carrots, and onions for 45 minutes. Then I added parsnips and the potatoes and simmered for another 30 minutes. Then the leeks and rosemary for about 10 minutes. This was very, very good. I was quite happy to make a good St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by south_coast
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a lovely recipe. I only made a couple of additions and changes. Nearer the end of the cooking I tasted it, and found it slightly bland so I added two teaspoons of powdered beef stock. The recipe states that it be cooked for an hour and three quarters, I actually used my slow cooker and had it on for five hours. Apart from the smell that drifted throughout the house (with the help of the Irish soda bread), it was delightfully delicious and the lamb just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by south_coast

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nowra, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Turned out great! I thought there was too much water, though, so I left the lid off and let it reduce at the end. Ate it with beer bread. edit: Made it again and this time added celery with the carrots. I probably doubled or tripled the vegetables. I also used lamb neck meat this time, still on the bone, then pulled it off when it was tender. Great recipe and versitile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was fabulous!! I made a large pot of this and bought it to work for St. Patrick's Day. I received so many positive comments and many said it was the best Irish Stew they had ever tasted. I didn't make any changes to the recipe, the fresh rosemary is a must, and the parsnip also gives it a nice taste. Also, if you can buy Australian or New Zealand lamb, it definitely makes it more rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yep great dish.. I used fresh chicken stock instead of water, and added thyme as well as rosemary, parsnip should be put in the same time as the spuds... top marks for a super dish X
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garymac

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Wonderful. The meat was very tender; the broth flavorful and delicious. Perfect comfort food on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Loved this recipe. Added a peeled and chopped turnip and made a roux to thicken it up a bit. It came out great! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States