Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm not sure if I like lamb so I used beef stew meat. This was so good and I really like the taste of parsnips, gave it a nice "bite". I let my potatoes cook a little too long and some of them fell apart but it was still excellent tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good and aside from the chopping, it's relatively easy to prepare. I cooked it about an hour longer than suggested and the lamb was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made the recipe exactly as written except without the leeks and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
i used only guinness for the liquid and more veggies. killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizetteorama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
What an amazing recipe, tastes exactly as Olde Irish Stew should. Huge thumbs up, will use every single St Patty's Day. Thank you SO MUCH !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Oh yummy! We thoroughly enjoyed this. I cooked it in a crockpot / slow cooker on low for 6 hrs which necessitated a couple of changes to the recipe directions. I coated the lamb chunks in flour before browning, and stir-fried the onions and leeks in a little oil (along with a teaspoon of garlic powder - couldn't find my real garlic). I parboiled the parsnips and potatoes for 5 minutes. Then I tossed everything into the slow cooker with one cup of water, one cup of red wine, and 2 cups of beef broth, and left it alone! Didnt' add the rosemary until half an hour before serving - think I might add it earlier next time. And yes, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
A great Irish stew recipe -- this reminds me of my mother's. I used beef instead of lamb (I don't like lamb); 4 potatoes rather than 3 because mine were small, and a bit of dried basil, oregano and garlic powder because I didn't have any fresh rosemary (which would have been delicious). The parsnip was an excellent addition and I'm glad it was suggested. I added beef broth for 2 cups of the water, added another two cups of water during cooking, and boiled it hard toward the end so it would thicken a bit. Delicious -- it made my St. Paddy's day feast a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good, but missing a small something. Perhaps it could use slightly more herbs? My mom makes a similar stew, but usually with beef, and she braises the meat in flour, adds the onions and potatoes, then deglazes the pot with wine and/or Campbell's tomato juice (almost an entire can), then lets it all simmer together for about an hour. It turns out very nice - savory yet light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
mmm goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
If there was a rating higher than 5 stars, this recipe deserves it. I followed the directions pretty close to start, but added the parsnips with the potatoes (following other comments). In addition I soaked the lamb in buttermilk overnight to take the "gamey" edge off. After beginning the stew on the stove, when I added the potatoes and parsnips I put it in the slow cooker for the day (I used the "keep warm" setting for the 12 hours I had to be at work). Got home and it was perfect! Fed it to a British native and he raved about it. Great with a spinach salad and crusty bread with a smooth Merlot. We will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States