Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
AMAZING!!! I left out the rosemary since my family doesn't really go for it and added more veggies. It was fantastick. I love leeks and lamb together. This is a keeper. I never follow a recipe to the dot because I don't belive in measurments outside of baking. This is a great recipe to work with. I think it would work well in a crock pot too. Try adding some lemon. Lemon and lamb go together naturally as lamb is a very rich meat and lemon will freshen up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Wonderful! I made this for tonights dinner and paired it with some home made Irish brown bread and it was sooooo good! It's now two hours later and I'm still stuffed :-) I only made a couple of small changes.. I used beef broth instead of plain water and I followed someone else's advice about adding the parsnips with the potatoes. I'm a fan of parsnips now! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm not sure if I like lamb so I used beef stew meat. This was so good and I really like the taste of parsnips, gave it a nice "bite". I let my potatoes cook a little too long and some of them fell apart but it was still excellent tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good and aside from the chopping, it's relatively easy to prepare. I cooked it about an hour longer than suggested and the lamb was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made the recipe exactly as written except without the leeks and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
i used only guinness for the liquid and more veggies. killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizetteorama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
What an amazing recipe, tastes exactly as Olde Irish Stew should. Huge thumbs up, will use every single St Patty's Day. Thank you SO MUCH !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Oh yummy! We thoroughly enjoyed this. I cooked it in a crockpot / slow cooker on low for 6 hrs which necessitated a couple of changes to the recipe directions. I coated the lamb chunks in flour before browning, and stir-fried the onions and leeks in a little oil (along with a teaspoon of garlic powder - couldn't find my real garlic). I parboiled the parsnips and potatoes for 5 minutes. Then I tossed everything into the slow cooker with one cup of water, one cup of red wine, and 2 cups of beef broth, and left it alone! Didnt' add the rosemary until half an hour before serving - think I might add it earlier next time. And yes, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
A great Irish stew recipe -- this reminds me of my mother's. I used beef instead of lamb (I don't like lamb); 4 potatoes rather than 3 because mine were small, and a bit of dried basil, oregano and garlic powder because I didn't have any fresh rosemary (which would have been delicious). The parsnip was an excellent addition and I'm glad it was suggested. I added beef broth for 2 cups of the water, added another two cups of water during cooking, and boiled it hard toward the end so it would thicken a bit. Delicious -- it made my St. Paddy's day feast a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good, but missing a small something. Perhaps it could use slightly more herbs? My mom makes a similar stew, but usually with beef, and she braises the meat in flour, adds the onions and potatoes, then deglazes the pot with wine and/or Campbell's tomato juice (almost an entire can), then lets it all simmer together for about an hour. It turns out very nice - savory yet light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States