Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by imallie
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Fabulous! I will make this again, with more parsnips. I really liked the leeks,too. I've also made this with beef stew meat(cause boy is it cheaper and easier to find than the lamb!), but I think the lamb is still the winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
It was okay, but it was a little bland, the potatoes took forever to achieve tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this as written, and it is very good. I did add some extra parsnips with the potatoes because I love parsnips. Made it with the Irish Brown Soda Bread on this site. A great meal. Might add some extra water next time when I add the rosemary and potatoes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this without the parsnip, rosemary, and leeks. Don't know if it was because of that but it came out somewhat bland and watery. I did put a bay leaf in at the beginning. Then I used some cornstarch to thicken the broth. My Irish roommate claimed it was good, then proceeded to put a layer of pepper on her stew... so maybe she was just being nice. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Turned out great! I thought there was too much water, though, so I left the lid off and let it reduce at the end. Ate it with beer bread. edit: Made it again and this time added celery with the carrots. I probably doubled or tripled the vegetables. I also used lamb neck meat this time, still on the bone, then pulled it off when it was tender. Great recipe and versitile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was tasty! I ended up using shoulder chops instead of a lamb roast because it's all my grocery store had; seemed to work fine, as long as you're sure to pull the bones out. I used my slow cooker. I soaked the chops in buttermilk overnight and browned them briefly in olive oil; then, in the same pan, I sauted the onions, carrots and parsnips until they started to get some color. I put the lamb into the cooker first, then the potatoes, then the onion/carrot/parsnip sautee (I didn't want the onions to break down completely during cooking), and then topped it with the chopped leeks and rosemary. Used 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water, and then cooked on low for about seven hours. Everything cooked nicely and the stew had a lovely flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
followed the recipe to a T -- turned out great, I didn't think it would be spiced enough, but the rosemary really helps. Paired this with the Irish Brown Soda Bread from this site for an Irish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Loved this recipe. Added a peeled and chopped turnip and made a roux to thicken it up a bit. It came out great! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
EXCELLANT/ I added a little corn. and put in bay leaf b4 potato/ love it! OH one more thing, I used Beef broth instead of water, one 32 oz package did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
AMAZING!!! I left out the rosemary since my family doesn't really go for it and added more veggies. It was fantastick. I love leeks and lamb together. This is a keeper. I never follow a recipe to the dot because I don't belive in measurments outside of baking. This is a great recipe to work with. I think it would work well in a crock pot too. Try adding some lemon. Lemon and lamb go together naturally as lamb is a very rich meat and lemon will freshen up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States