Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is the first stew I've ever cooked and the recipe doesn't disappoint. From past experience, I went with the recommendations to add the parsnips later. I put them in about twenty minutes before the potatoes. I like my parsnips very soft but not mushy. The lamb was tender and flavorful, but if yours is gamey it may have more to do with the meat than the recipe. Rosemary is always the perfect companion to lamb in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
as a young mum i am hopeless with traditonal meals relying on easy foods out of a jar but this meal was amazing i will definately be trying other dishes that are also additive free and filling for all the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
loved this stew--it's the best-full bodied flavor-am making it again-be sure to hold off on the potatoes and parsnips-till last-Vawter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this recipe because of all the glowing five star reviews it got. Unfortunately, I did not feel the same way. I thought it was very bland -- and I don't even like spicy food! A real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was my first attempt at making Irish stew, it's easy and delicious served with piping hot soda bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raymond, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was delicious. Such great flavors, I would make this again. I had too much grease from the lamb in my dish, next time I will drain better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent recipe.As it is.I just added 1 tbsp.of corn starch,for a little thickness.Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by south_coast
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a lovely recipe. I only made a couple of additions and changes. Nearer the end of the cooking I tasted it, and found it slightly bland so I added two teaspoons of powdered beef stock. The recipe states that it be cooked for an hour and three quarters, I actually used my slow cooker and had it on for five hours. Apart from the smell that drifted throughout the house (with the help of the Irish soda bread), it was delightfully delicious and the lamb just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by south_coast

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nowra, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I love Irish Stew,I use Lamb shanks cooked first in a pan of water then makeing a thick veg broth from the stock adding some barley, adding the spuds and the cooked lamb shanks for the last 20 to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Letterkenny, County Donegal, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States