Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Very tasty and filling..i also added celery and a nice amount of Worstershire Sauce..absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Nice simple recipe. We slurped up the broth with rice on the side. Our first time trying lamb in stew form. We'll never go back to beef again. The lamb is sweet and tender. Old fashioned goodness. I skipped the rosemary and the parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was my first attempt at Irish Stew, and I'll make it again. It was lovely. I used venison in place of the lamb, and added a Guinness, a touch of garlic powder, and about a teaspoon of beef bouillon granules while it was cooking. Great with warm, dark bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I thought this was a tasty stew recipe but my husband wasn't a fan. We added an onion, extra potato, and the leftoever leg of lamb from easter. I would recommend it to most people, i think my husband just doesn't like stew in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very, very good! I made it just as the recipe described, except I added two or three tablespoons of flour (in a cup of water) at the end of the cooking time for thickening purposes. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
OMG AMAZING!!! My family wants this on the menu regularly.....delicious!!!! Double the recipe for leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My family hails from Counties Antrim and Armargh in Northern Ireland and I can attest that this is an authentic version of Irish stew. Indeed, every cook does personalize the basic recipe a wee bit. In the US, my mother preferred using beef, though my grandmother always made the stew with lamb. I like to add a small handful of barley. Tt is a delicious basic recipe. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was quite good and I followed it almost to a "T". I added an extra carrot, doubled the leeks, used 5 cups of water, added the parsnip later as per recommendations here, and I used venison instead of lamb because that is what I had. My fiance and I quite liked it but did have to add some extra salt and pepper on top. It's a great cold-day dish. I served it with potato sage bread and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yep great dish.. I used fresh chicken stock instead of water, and added thyme as well as rosemary, parsnip should be put in the same time as the spuds... top marks for a super dish X
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garymac

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This stew was good, but a little bland. Definitely a comfort food. The lamb was a little strong tasting, and my kids didn't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States