Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was a very good stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thecookingmommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I love stew and lamb. This was way too bland for me. I ended up adding 1T of beef bouillion for flavor and additional salt. I also thickened it a bit with 2T flour. I've tasted better so will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I gave this 4 stars only because this is my third time eating lamb and I just don't like it. But i thought this would be great if I made it with beef instead. Also, my neighbor, who loves lamb, really liked this! Very hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We used stew beef instead of lamb. Great recipe - easy to follow and made a delicious St. Patty's Day dinner! Will make a few adjustments for next year but overall, this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
A wonderful alternative to the traditional corned beef and cabbage for St. Patty's Day. I wasn't able to find a whole shoulder at any of my local stores so I bought shoulder chops instead. I cut the meat off the bones and browned it as per the recipe. Since I love lamb and hate to waste food I browned the bones and clinging meat in my toaster oven and added them in too. (The meat and any connective tissue becomes very tender with the low and slow cooking). I followed poster "SakiFiz" timetable- 45 min simmer for the meat, carrots and onions, add parsnip (next time I will add a second one) and taters for another 30 mins and a final 10 mins after adding leeks and rosemary (try not to skip the rosemary- I just added 2 sprigs because I didn't feel like chopping... the leaves came off and I just picked out the stems along with the bones when serving). Oh yeah... I added some beer along with the water... I used an amber lager because I was saving my Guinness for drinking!! This in now my new "go to" meal for St. Pat's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skillman, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Perfect meal. Like other reviewers I used the crockpot after browning the lamb and used vegetable broth in place of water. Was a big hit with friends and family. Cooked all night and day on 'keep warm' setting. Was perfect when I got home . Perfect with Irish soda bread and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! I will admit it was the first time I ever tried cooking lamb, but since my husband can't eat corned beef, I wanted to make a traditional Irish stew for St. Patrick's Day. The only thing that I had omitted were the potatoes because I was serving the stew over Champ. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good. I added some beef broth and followed the suggestions. It is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
What a great stew! I added a little thyme, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKHEISLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've never made anything Irish until today. I made this stew with beef because my local grocery store does not carry lamb. Also had to leave out the parsnips for the same reason. But it was delicious nonetheless -- I browned the beef and then added everything to the crockpot for 5 hours on low. My husband and eight children all liked it -- well, there are some picky eaters who did not want to eat their carrots or their potatoes, but with kids in the U.S. that comes with the territory -- but for the most part, it was a hit. We ate it with Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread on this site. No one left the table hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States