Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
A nice recipe. Very traditional and I used most of the recipe, as it follows mine. The changes I made were, using stewing beef in stead of mutton. Also I added 2 bay leaves (to a large top), and also added cut green beans, brown mushrooms, and a diced turnip instead of parsnip. My other changes were a 1.5 cups of red wine, and pearl onions at the last 30 minute mark (with the potatoes) before serving. It came out very rich and very colorful. I wonderful winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayszip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made this today and it was delicious and super easy to make. Even a cooking novice like me could handle it without a hitch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was AMAZING. My daughter's class had an "Ireland Day" and I brought this-- even all the kiddos (1st grade) at it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made this tonight with leftover boneless leg of lamb. It was fantastic! My husband had 2 bowls! I'm keeping this one and will go back to it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delish, the best Irish I'v ever eaten. You should especially try it with sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome. You can also change it up a little bit. If you don't have potatoes, you can use rice. But I do prefer to make it the way it is written. Freezes well and packs into lunches well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was excellent! I used top sirloin beef instead of lamb, added vegetable broth and water, and added other herbs. I also switched out red potatoes instead of russet. Other than that I was pretty true to the recipe. I even added the parsnips and actually really enjoyed them. I definitely would make this again! I paired it with some soda bread and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very delicious! I made a couple of changes though. I added 1 tsp of Garlic powder, 1 tsp of dried rosemary and dried thyme leaves each added during the hour of simmering. I also would add the leeks with the potatoes and parsnip near the end, if you want them softer as I prefer. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was a very good stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thecookingmommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I love stew and lamb. This was way too bland for me. I ended up adding 1T of beef bouillion for flavor and additional salt. I also thickened it a bit with 2T flour. I've tasted better so will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States