Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
AMAZING!!! I left out the rosemary since my family doesn't really go for it and added more veggies. It was fantastick. I love leeks and lamb together. This is a keeper. I never follow a recipe to the dot because I don't belive in measurments outside of baking. This is a great recipe to work with. I think it would work well in a crock pot too. Try adding some lemon. Lemon and lamb go together naturally as lamb is a very rich meat and lemon will freshen up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Wonderful. The meat was very tender; the broth flavorful and delicious. Perfect comfort food on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was fabulous!! I made a large pot of this and bought it to work for St. Patrick's Day. I received so many positive comments and many said it was the best Irish Stew they had ever tasted. I didn't make any changes to the recipe, the fresh rosemary is a must, and the parsnip also gives it a nice taste. Also, if you can buy Australian or New Zealand lamb, it definitely makes it more rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made the recipe exactly as written except without the leeks and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This stew is wonderful. My husband loved it! I thickened it up a bit with flour. I also used stew beef because I could not find lamb at my grocery store. I cooked it the day before and then warmed it for approximately four hours in my crock-pot. The meat was so tender. I believe the fresh rosemary is a must. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I've said it before and it still holds true: this recipe is my gold standard for Irish stew. I made it for St. Patrick's Day dinner this weekend, and my family ate every bit--even the parsnips. Of course, I didn't tell them about the parsnips until later. Now they know they like 'em! Just a couple of notes: next time I'll cook a big chunk of parsnip and carrot with the lamb, but I'll add fresh parsnip and carrot later on so they won't disintegrate. Also, I sear the meat in batches and skim the stew as it simmers. Thanks for a great recipe, Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
YummY- all of my friends and my family loved it. Comfort food.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAAMM78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good and aside from the chopping, it's relatively easy to prepare. I cooked it about an hour longer than suggested and the lamb was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm not sure if I like lamb so I used beef stew meat. This was so good and I really like the taste of parsnips, gave it a nice "bite". I let my potatoes cook a little too long and some of them fell apart but it was still excellent tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Wonderful! I made this for tonights dinner and paired it with some home made Irish brown bread and it was sooooo good! It's now two hours later and I'm still stuffed :-) I only made a couple of small changes.. I used beef broth instead of plain water and I followed someone else's advice about adding the parsnips with the potatoes. I'm a fan of parsnips now! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States