Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Wonderful. The meat was very tender; the broth flavorful and delicious. Perfect comfort food on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I've said it before and it still holds true: this recipe is my gold standard for Irish stew. I made it for St. Patrick's Day dinner this weekend, and my family ate every bit--even the parsnips. Of course, I didn't tell them about the parsnips until later. Now they know they like 'em! Just a couple of notes: next time I'll cook a big chunk of parsnip and carrot with the lamb, but I'll add fresh parsnip and carrot later on so they won't disintegrate. Also, I sear the meat in batches and skim the stew as it simmers. Thanks for a great recipe, Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was fabulous!! I made a large pot of this and bought it to work for St. Patrick's Day. I received so many positive comments and many said it was the best Irish Stew they had ever tasted. I didn't make any changes to the recipe, the fresh rosemary is a must, and the parsnip also gives it a nice taste. Also, if you can buy Australian or New Zealand lamb, it definitely makes it more rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Good but not spectacular. Lamb is a bit gamey in this recipe but it was good comfort food overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This stew is wonderful. My husband loved it! I thickened it up a bit with flour. I also used stew beef because I could not find lamb at my grocery store. I cooked it the day before and then warmed it for approximately four hours in my crock-pot. The meat was so tender. I believe the fresh rosemary is a must. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
YummY- all of my friends and my family loved it. Comfort food.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAAMM78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Not bad. just needed to make a few adjustments:) Putting the parsnips in so early made them go to mush! Was that the point? hope not. I would suggest putting them in at the same time as pots. And for the pots I put them in 35 minutes before I like mine to be cooked and soft throughout. I also suggest preparing this meal at least an hour before you need it. Stew always tastes better when left and then warmed up!!! promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was the perfect comfort food. I had never had lamb before and it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
If there was a rating higher than 5 stars, this recipe deserves it. I followed the directions pretty close to start, but added the parsnips with the potatoes (following other comments). In addition I soaked the lamb in buttermilk overnight to take the "gamey" edge off. After beginning the stew on the stove, when I added the potatoes and parsnips I put it in the slow cooker for the day (I used the "keep warm" setting for the 12 hours I had to be at work). Got home and it was perfect! Fed it to a British native and he raved about it. Great with a spinach salad and crusty bread with a smooth Merlot. We will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
mmm goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States