Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yep great dish.. I used fresh chicken stock instead of water, and added thyme as well as rosemary, parsnip should be put in the same time as the spuds... top marks for a super dish X
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garymac

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This stew was good, but a little bland. Definitely a comfort food. The lamb was a little strong tasting, and my kids didn't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The recipe was really good, Irish food just seems to be a little bland. I seasoned it very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanrc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
OMG this is sooooo good. I left the stew on for a couple hours to keep it warm and the meat (used beef) fell off the fork. I'm looking forward to making this again. Oh, you have to add the fresh rosemary, it really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarmagnolia98
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This turned out pretty good. It needed A LOT more salt than the recipe called for. The only change I made was adding the parsnips with the potatoes, as other people suggested. With more salt, it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good stew. I did more changes than most of the reviewers: -I used beef sirloin because I couldn't find any lamb that looked good. -I doubled the amount of onions, carrots, and parsnips. I also used extra potato but not quite double. -I used 6 cups of water and added a large beef bouillon cube. -I added one can of Guinness. -The original simmer included the beef, carrots, and onions for 45 minutes. Then I added parsnips and the potatoes and simmered for another 30 minutes. Then the leeks and rosemary for about 10 minutes. This was very, very good. I was quite happy to make a good St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was the first real dish (as in not something like mac n cheese!) I have made for my family! (= It was also the first time I have cooked with lamb, parsnip, leek, and rosemary. It was a great dish for St. Patrick's Day and gave me a great opportunity to work with foods not usually found in an American diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TechKat
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
a nice hearty stew with pure, simple flavours. the juices are divine and beg to be mopped up with some good crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is a very good recipe, and the closest to what I've been told by several Irish friends is traditional Irish stew. The main difference between this recipe and other versions I've had is traditional Irish stew is assembled in layers; meat and onions/leeks first, then the carrots and parsnips/turnips, and then the potatoes, each layer getting a touch of salt, pepper, rosemary and thyme. When the stew is ready to be served the spuds on top are lightly mashed, then stirred into the stew in order to thicken it. Like others I find lamb too strong for stew, so I used beef marinated in porter. I browned the beef in butter rather than oil. And I use beef stock instead of water. Still, this is a very good recipe to build on. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is 'original' Irish Stew. Made with lamb. Not beef as so many others have. And a thinner broth which is also the way it should be served. Fantastic! Was wonderful. I shall add this to my Irish recipe book. Erin Go Braugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastal Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States