Irish Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very good, this recipe turned out a very flavorful and tender steak. I would recommend removing the onions after caramelizing a bit, before adding the steak to the pan. My steaks took about 8 minutes total and by then the onions were blackening. Next time I'll add a touch of cream to the whiskey sauce and simmer a bit. Don't be afraid of the whiskey leaving too strong a flavor, it doesn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This steak turned out delicious. I originally made it from the UK Allrecipes site. It is the same recipe and submitter. I tend to broil or grill steak as I have not had much success with steak on the stove top. This worked well, for me, though. I used N.Y. strip. Mine, I realized, were kind of on the thin side so I halved the other ingredients. I used butter with canola oil to make the butter/oil measurements quicker. I cooked the onions on medium until I just noticed some light browning. The original recipe did not indicate, but I removed the onions before adding the meat with a slotted spoon. I started the meat on medium, but had to turn it up to about 6.5 to finish browning. I was worried that the whiskey would be too strong, because I don't care for it. However, it more or less just tenderized it. I poured it directly over the steak and added about 1-2 more minutes to the steak. I did not cook the caramelized onions in the whiskey either. I enjoyed my steak. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was really yummy! I used two ribeyes and served this with Smoked Bacon and Irish Cheese Mash. Flambe them if you can, it helps soften the whiskey flavor. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have been doing a similar recipe for many years, and it is always popular. Try pouring the whiskey into a shallow dish, tray or plate and soak the steak for a couple of minutes, then turn over and soak again before cooking it. After the steak is cooked to taste, remove from pan and cover with foil. Next add a knob of butter and cook the onion (or chopped green onion). When the onion has begun to colour, add the whiskey from the dish to deglaze the pan and stir well, then add about a quarter cup of thick cream, turn up the heat and reduce till thickened. Serve on top of the steak. - Steak with whiskey cream sauce! Notes: Will also work with Bourbon, Dry Sherry, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Big hit at our house. I used a big fat london broil which required a lot of extra cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Okay, this was a great recipe!!! My Hispanic son-in-law said he really liked Irish food, I served this with colcannon and a side veggie. What a great meal. Thanks for sharing this one with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
the taste was alright. i definatly would change up the recipe next time and make sure the steaks are not frozen and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My Iowa farm girl wife thought this was one of the best steaks we ever prepared, and she's pretty selective about her steak. I slivered the garlic clove and placed them into slits when i finished with the rubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Good flavor combination, but after trying it the way written, I tried the combination in a different way. 1. Dry the steaks well (put them on a wire rack for a couple hours in the fridge. Actually, if you can do this for a day or two, that works much better). 2. Salt and pepper the steaks. Rub in well and let stand at room temperature for an hour or so. 3. Sear the steaks in half the butter and half the oil over relatively high heat for about 2 minutes each side. Remove to a small sheet pan and place in a 250 degree oven for 15 minutes. 4. Add remaining butter and oil to the pan, and saute the onions and garlic until transparent. Deglaze with the whiskey and simmer to reduce. 5. Serve the medium-rare crust-to-crust steaks with the onion/garlic/whiskey over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Irish beef is superb, of course. Letting it flame up a bit to crisp/sear is another technique, but there's almost everything right, and certainly nothing wrong with this recipe! Easy to see why it is featured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States