Irish Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Terrific recipe. I used Delmonico steaks instead of sirloin. I think they take the flavors on better. Try adding sliced white or baby Bella mushrooms to the onions. Bellas give the dish a nice woody note. Also, take a look at my blog, www.jeffskitchen.net, for a wonderful recipe for smashed salt and vinegar potatoes. I served them with your steak and they were incredible together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great flavor! Next time I would be sure to allow for some browning of the onions while the beef cooked. I was afraid the onions were going to burn when I made this, and thankfully they didn't. A simple, delicious sauce and well worth the expense of Jameson whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I was worried the whiskey would be strong. We didn't have Irish whiskey, but some Willie Nelson Whiskey River. Not to worry! It was great! The whiskey cooks out and just leaves a really nice flavor that tastes nothing like the bottle smells! I only had round steak, I don't recommend those, but then I am not a fan of round steak. It was tough. I am definitely going to use this recipe again on a better cut of steak and also on some pork steak. It would be good on hamburgers too. The onions are delicious! I only wish there was more juice to make a gravy out of. I'll work on that next time. Thank you for the recipe!!! My husband was very skeptical and that I was wasting his whiskey. It was way better this way! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have been doing a similar recipe for many years, and it is always popular. Try pouring the whiskey into a shallow dish, tray or plate and soak the steak for a couple of minutes, then turn over and soak again before cooking it. After the steak is cooked to taste, remove from pan and cover with foil. Next add a knob of butter and cook the onion (or chopped green onion). When the onion has begun to colour, add the whiskey from the dish to deglaze the pan and stir well, then add about a quarter cup of thick cream, turn up the heat and reduce till thickened. Serve on top of the steak. - Steak with whiskey cream sauce! Notes: Will also work with Bourbon, Dry Sherry, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
it was amazing,,, love it,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious and soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My Iowa farm girl wife thought this was one of the best steaks we ever prepared, and she's pretty selective about her steak. I slivered the garlic clove and placed them into slits when i finished with the rubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe sounds really good, I dont like whiskey could brandy be used instead, thanking you Kay Cox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Irish beef is superb, of course. Letting it flame up a bit to crisp/sear is another technique, but there's almost everything right, and certainly nothing wrong with this recipe! Easy to see why it is featured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Big hit at our house. I used a big fat london broil which required a lot of extra cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States