Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
tip for those that don't know. when they cooked wrap them in a damp cloth. this will keep it soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yum! Served these tonight and my 12yo son gave me a high five! All four kids liked them, the Mama too. I followed one suggestion and added 2 T butter cut into the flour mixture. I did this in my food processor and used soured milk instead of buttermilk. Cooked on my electric non-stick griddle and they cooked through quite nicely. Interested to see how they are next day. Thanks for a tasty recipe! We'll have it year-round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Same recipe as my mother's from Belfast who was also named Ita. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Having recently discovered I can't have wheat or yeast, I have been searching for a bread replacement... THIS IS IT. Perfect! I substitute the flour for gluten free self raising flour, and it is just the best! I've tweaked it by adding herbs, and spices, making indian style naans, and garlic bread, rosemary "foccacia" and cinnamon bagels too.... Thank you, this is a lifesaver of a recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
these were delicious! great with jam and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
THIS WAS JUST SO COOL !!! Talk about easy - and with wonderful taste anbd texture to boot! My meatloaf was taking a little longer than usual and, as I didn't have a bread to go along with dinner, I though what the heck - I'll kill a couple of minutes and whip this up. Made exactly as directed (except having to use the milk/vinegar thing instead of buttermilk) cooking in a heavy cast iron skillet for 6" on each side. Puffed up beautifully, completely cooked thru and thru. As suggested, we simply split and covered with butter and jam. Tastes like a cross between a biscuit, an engligh muffin, and a pancake. Will definately go on menu rotation. Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Awesome biscuit-like patties good with butter and jam or just plain. I added some whole wheat flour for added nutrition and to make the dough firmer. Add enough to make dough easy to form into biscuit patties and cook on dry griddle over low heat so they do not burn before cooking through. Cover pan after turning to help them cook evenly. Quick and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These are so hearty and wonderful and best of all easy to make. You can eat them with anything, or just by themselves. I subbed a half cup of whole wheat flour for regular flour when I made them just to add a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My hubby is from Belfast and he's been saying for years we should make our own soda farls. Well we finally decided to and we found this recipe and man o man were they good. We make them all the time and can't believe we didn't do it sooner. Ita's recipe is so easy and so delicious. Thank you. Now if only we could find a recipe for Christmas dumpling we'd be set lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Simple. Delicious! I made mine vegan by putting 1 TBSP of cider vinegar in a cup and filling it to the 1 cup mark with plain soy milk. My son has a dairy allergy AND I didn't have buttermilk in the house anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States