Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I've never made Irish Soda Bread before but this recipe is a keeper! It's perfect and I didn't change a thing. Wasn't sure if it would turn out or not because it was so sticky but it's delicious. No need to look further for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Every year I try a different recipe for Irish Soda Bread on St. Pat's Day. This one is the best ever, and it will be the one I use from now on. EVERYONE loved it! It is so moist and flavorful, I ate it without spreading butter on it. I only used 2 cups of raisins as suggested by other reviewers and soaked them in hot water for about 5 minutes. I mixed all the dry ingredients with my stand mixer. I mixed the wet ingredients in a separate bowl with a wire whisk. Then I added the wet ingredients to the dry and mixed for about a minute with the stand mixer. I didn't bother to cut the slit or dust with flour. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I've been making bread for a long time but I've never made a soda bread. I tried this recipe and the bread turned out very well. The bread had a slight sweetness to it--just right for me. I used only two cups of raisins-- which was more than enough for me--and baked it in a cast iron skillet. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Wonderful recipe! Discovered (after I had begun) only had 1/4 cup raisins,so added craisins, chopped apricots, and finally gogi berries in order to come up with 3 cups total. It STILL came out very good and tasty! I have ordered raisins (black and golden) in bulk, so won't run out again soon! I will be making this recipe agin and again! I keep believing that I will read ALL the recipe directions, before starting, but I keep fooling myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I omitted the raisins and caraway, my goal was for this bread to accompany corned beef and cabbage. But followed the rest of recipe to the letter. It came out superb! There were many happy faces munching my bread at our feast and there was even an arm wrestling mach for the last slice, what a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: American Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I had 10 of my friends over for dinner and made two loaves. Super! everyone loved it. Its the same recipe I had when I was younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Cath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Best Irish Soda Bread I have ever had. This recipe was moist and had just a perfect hint of sweetness. It was picture perfect and delicious with my St. Patrick's Day meal. Definitely a keeper, and will be on my table much more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Left out the caraway seeds. Kept everything else as is. It was delicious! It's the best Irish bread I have made! Mother in law from Galway loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pastor_of_Muppets
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I do not bake much, so my prep time was longer than advertised but that is fine. I may have forgotten the salt, I cooked it at 375 for the first 30 minutes because I misread the instructions, and even with my inexperience and those blunders in the mix it turned out great. The dough is very sticky, I haven't figured out a way to do the kneading without getting it all over my hands (and then struggling to get it off). I highly recommend using wax paper to press it into the baking dish (that may be obvious, see "I do not bake much").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUST_NIC
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I loved this bread. We are not raisin fans so I used 1 cup of dried currants. That provided A LOT of fruit and I am glad I did not add anymore. My husband said more is better so I guess it is just personal preference. I also used just 1/2 TBSP of caraway seed. That provided a subtle flavor so I am glad I did not add more. My only complaint is the amount of flour added to the top before baking. Next time I will try using less flour and sifting a very fine coat over the top. Using a whole TBSP gave clumps of flour to some of the slices. This bread rises quite well and since we have plenty left over I will probably use another reviewer's suggestion and make french toast with it. I am sure it will taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States