Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this recipe & loved it. Very easy. It took less time to cook than specified. When i make it again i will use less sugar. I also left out the caraway seeds. Delicious.. I made 2 one for work,one for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I give this recipe a five star because it was so easy to make and the family really enjoyed it. I made this exactly as written except I was almost a cup short of raisins. It still turned out wonderful . Next time I may add a variety of dried fruits along with the raisins. This is my first experience with Irish soda bread and it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I didn't use the caraway seeds. Used raisins and currants. The family loved it too! Definitely a keeper for next year's St. Paddy's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made Irish Soda Bread... It was a HUGE Success!!!! Super easy, super tasty!!!! My 4 year old gave it a thumbs up and asked for another slice!!!! The only change I made was 1 cup each: Regular Raisins, Golden Raisins & Craisins. This will be my first and only Irish Soda Bread recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I left out the caraway seeds (personal preference). I also had a little trouble with the top and sides getting REALLY brown before the middle was done, so I might cover them with foil for at least half of the baking time. But everyone loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was my first time making irish soda bread and I was absolutely pleased with the result. For the most part, I followed the recipe exactly, except instead of 1 tbsp of caraway seeds, I only used about 1/4 tsp. I used a cask iron skillet and baked for about 65 minutes. Beautiful result, nice moisture for a bread but not too cakey. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This bread was good, easy to make and delicious tasting. I only used 2 cups of raisins though, thought that was plenty enough. However, nest time I will add a bit more flour so that I can kneed it a bit by hand and bake it on a regular baking sheet instead of a 9 inch round cake/pie baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have made Irish soda bread before and by far this is the best recipe I have ever made. I did skip the caraway seeds and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I picked this recipe because of the buttermilk and sour cream. I omitted the raisins and the caraway just because of my picky kids. I baked it in an 8 inch cake pan. I was going to split it and make 2 loaves, because it didn't look like enough dough at first. It baked up into a huge loaf. I might make 2 smaller loaves next time. Also, I had trouble cutting the top because it was so sticky. I sprayed Pam on the back of a spatula, and spread the dough in the pan and smoothed out the top a little. I sprinkled the top with sugar. It was just enough to make the top crust slightly sweet with a little crunch. I was previously baking the Irrestible Irish Soda Bread from this site, which is more of a quick bread. We liked this one better. I'm keeping this recipe in my recipe box and deleting all the other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This bread was wonderful! I made it to go with our Sunday dinner and everyone loved it. Kringle you must've made an error somewhere along the way. It was very easy. This recipe will go in with my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States