Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
excellent, didnt alter the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very tasty ! LOTS of raisins - which was ok for us. Also don't be scared by the carraway seeds : the quantity is perfect to add a twist without any"pharmacical" bad taste.. The bread didn't raise like on the picture though :-( Maybe too old soda? But deserves an other try : was too good with butter or apricot jam...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Typically I let my Bread Machine Prepare my bread but I gave this recipe a shot and Loved It!. Had a Dinner Party for 4 and Everyone Loved it and Took Some Home!.. Try it in the toaster the next day and it is equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I ate Irish Soda Bread for the first time last weekend and loved it. Wanted to try making it myself. This recipe was nothing like what I had tasted - not as sweet,more moist and heavy plus caraway seeds. Dough was sticky so wasn't sure how to handle it. Made it exactly by the receipe except used 1 cup of golden raisins. Even though it wasn't what I expected, I loved the result. Had to put part of it in the freezer as I was afraid I would pig out and eat the whole loaf. Will make again but may add a little more flour to make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not a good recipe. I'm wondering if it's because I used the cast iron skillet. The bread ended up being hard as rock, despite having followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was a winner on ST PATRICK'S day. I did not add the seeds, and kept the recipe as posted. It was moist and all the kids loved it with the generous raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This bread is different fro the traditional Irish soda breads I've made in the past. On Sunday, St Patrick's Day, I made this bread and the "traditional" recipe that was given me by my Irish MIL. This bread "won" our soda bread "taste off". Everyone loved and demanded the recipe. They all loved the wonderful flavor the caraway seeds added. And I loved the therapeutic benefit of making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I left out the caraway seeds (personal preference). Bread was great the day I made it and great toasted the day after. I will make this again and use whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little healthier. Also, we didn't have sour cream so I used nonfat Greek yogurt with perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was the absolute best soda bread that I've ever had. Makes a nice high loaf that is moist and sweet. Everyone loved it. This will be my new soda bread recipe from now on. I don't think it could get any better than this. Thanks Penguin Lady. You're a genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonna donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States