Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have been making soda bread for 50 years. This is by far the best recipe. To make a delicious Christmas bread, omit the caraway seeds, substitute 1 cup of glazed cherries, 1 cup of walnuts or pecans for two of the cups of raisins. Use 1 cup of currants/raisins. We like this bread better than Christmas Stollen, which is a sweeter bread. Be sure to allow all ingredients to be at room temperature before combining. This is a winner. I have adjusted the baking time downward to accommodate my high oven. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
So very easy and delishious. Thanks for the simplicity texture and memory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I make this bread every March, and usually once in the fall when baking season starts up, just because I can't wait to snack on it again! Great for soaking up stew, delicious with a little coconut oil spread on top, and good even just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Bread recipes do not usually call for eggs, as adding eggs to bread makes them more cake-like and less bread-like. With this recipe, adding eggs probably counteracts the amount of liquid that is being used, as opposed to the normal 1 3/4 cup buttermilk (or Yogurt). Essentially, you could switch Yogurt for the buttermilk, especially if you wanted another flavor to the bread (after all, all it's looking for is cultured/soured milk). Overall the bread recipe came out OK, but it was more cakey than Soda bread would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very good but not sure if this tastes like Irish Soda Bread. The ones I have had were dry and crumbly and slightly salty with sweet raisins or currents. This is a very sweet bread and the raisins make it sweeter. STILL - the men loved it. I did NOT put in the seeds as they have an off-putting odor. This would make a great cinnamon bread with added cinnamon. I'll have to make this again as my husband and father loved it, but will ask a friend in Ireland for her ISB recipe. I'll post it if I get a good one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Delicious. Amazing. Made it for St. Patrick's day dinner with some friends and the men would NOT stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Not a fan of this. I only used 2 cups of raisins (since that's all I had) and there were too many. I also wasn't able to use the sour cream (mine had expired) and the dough was still too sticky. The crumb on this was very moist, but I prefer a crumbly soda bread. The middle of this bread never fully cooked. It had excellent flavor, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made it yesterday-first attempt. Trying to use up sour cream and buttermilk. Took advice of some reviewers and reduced raisins (had only golden in pantry) to (2) cups and added 1/2 cup chopped apricots. Increased buttermilk slightly because I had only 1/2 cup sour cream. Good thing I read reviews re stickiness of dough otherwise I probably would have added too much flour. I did use a cast iron skillet and also followed a reviewer's comments -- cut the cross in on top after 15 minutes in oven. The dough was so sticky. Followed another reviewer's comments -- just plop it into a greased pan, spray back of spatula with Pam and smooth top. Came out great. I don't digest butter easily and this recipe doesn't have it as an ingredient and so I hope it freezes well. I could consume the whole loaf -- had to get it out of sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Came out perfect first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Carson
Home Town: Huntington, Oregon, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I did enjoy the results but modified it slightly by (as many have said) reducing the raisins to 2 cups with hydrating them first before adding. I did not have a round pan (was at my bf's) so I used a bread loaf. I let the dough (which was very sticky) sit in the greased load pan 30 minutes to marry the moistness with the bread flour with the buttermilk as it common). The caraway seeds (like them in general) did ad a great flavor and I will do the same recipe next time I make this bread. I have made other ISBs on this site and this recipe will be added to those other recipes I will enjoy again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States