Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Left out the caraway seeds and reduced the raisins by half (maybe more). This bread turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Really delicious. Didn't have caraway seed so we didn't experience that flavor. We love raisins and can't understand how anyone could think that there were too many raisins! This replaces my old Irish Soda Bread recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
We make this soda bread every year. Today will be our fourth time! I love the combination of sweet from the raisins contrasting with the caraway seeds. The dough will be sticky, do not dismay. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Jenks Prestigiacomo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I LOVED the recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. My favorite part was the beautiful story about Grandma. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
3 cups of raisins is an absurd amount! I can barely taste the bread. ALLLLLL raisins. I will keep searching for my perfect soda bread recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday and we loved it! I made two loaves, but one at a time to see if anything needed tweaking. The ONLY thing I changed in the second loaf is that I only used 2 cups of raisins because 3 cups (in the first loaf) was way too many. It almost looked like there was as much raisin as there was bread. Other than that, it was delicious and well worth it! By the way, I've seen quite a few reviews of this where people say they omitted the raisins and/or caraway seeds. Newsflash: that is not "adjusting" the recipe, it is making an entirely different recipe. Without the raisins and caraway seeds, it is NOT Irish Soda Bread. It's just bread (of some sort). It would be like following a recipe for Beef Stew and saying you made it without the beef. That's not BEEF stew! Please keep your complete re-creations out of the reviews. Post your own recipe and call it something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this today and it was uh-mazing! I only used 1 box of raisins which came out to be about 2 1/4 cups. My four year old hated the raisin (what kind of a kid are you?!?!?!)...so next time I might omit the raisins so he will eat it (I'm sure it will still be good). It was super moist and the dough will be really sticky (like stick to your hands bad sticky). If this did not come out right for you, you def did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I used one stick of butter mixed in to dough in place of the sour cream . I had used another recipe for years but this is more moist and slices well without falling apart . Used only 2 cups of raisins. It was perfect. Not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe was amazing. Yes the dough is wet however a little sprinkling of flour on your hands and on the dough solves the stickiness issue! Also I made some modifications to the recipe. I halved the sugar (1/4 cup), omitted the raisins, added a little more than 1 tbs of caraway seeds and baked in a dutch oven. This bread was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The bread came out PERFECT! I did only put in 2 cups of raisins and instead of flouring the top, I brushed it with butter. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States