Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very good warm, slathered with butter. Nice crust and moist inside. Makes a nice size loaf, more like 16 servings. Will be sharing! Made in a 9.5 inch glass pie pan-done in 60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sue
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was by far the best. The texture is not crumbly or dry. I did add more sugar and made my buttermilk with whole milk and lemon juice. Cooked 1 1/2 hours. Mm mm seven with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This bread is so good! It was so easy to make and turned out to be one of the best breads I have made. My family all loved it. I will be making it again. It is a keeper! I will say I added golden raisins and because I didn't have enough I also used Craisins. I baked in a 9" round pan. Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night. I did not change a thing, and this bread turned out WONDERFUL! This is the exact taste, and texture i like. Its a bit more "cakey" then "bready", which is the way I love my irish soda bread. Thanks for such a great recipe. This is the first time I ever tried making it, I am so happy I found this recipe, I have to look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Loved this! So easy to make and turned out great. Definitely brush the top with buttermilk, but do not dust with flour. I omitted the caraway seeds as a personal preference and used 2 cups of raisins instead of 3. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Shhhh... Don't tell Nana! I couldn't find Nana's Irish Bread recipe, but we really want some. I found this recipe and.... Oh, uh... It's better than Nana's! Really! This is our go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and easy. Made it for the first time today with a friend and thrilled with the results. Crusty and chewy and delicious. We made 2 loaves and used a 15 oz. box of raisins between us which was just perfect. Would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I actually really like this. It was not the soda bread that I was expecting. It was denser, more moist, and sweeter than what I was looking for. Still, it was very good. We had it with beef stew and the sweetness of the raisins was lovely. I only used 1.5 cups of raisins and that was fine for me. Also I thought I had sour cream and it turned out that I didn't, so I added another 3/4 cup buttermilk and 4 TB butter in a pinch. I will make again for sure. Couldn't do the x on top as I like because it was not elastic enough, but it did have a sufficiently crusty exterior. I baked in a 9 inch cake pan. It took 60 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this twice now and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe calls for, and it was Amazing!!!!! The second time I only had one cup of raisins and about half a cup sour cream, it was still really good, but better the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made a few different recipes, this is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States