Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Best Irish Soda Bread I have ever had. This recipe was moist and had just a perfect hint of sweetness. It was picture perfect and delicious with my St. Patrick's Day meal. Definitely a keeper, and will be on my table much more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Left out the caraway seeds. Kept everything else as is. It was delicious! It's the best Irish bread I have made! Mother in law from Galway loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pastor_of_Muppets
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I do not bake much, so my prep time was longer than advertised but that is fine. I may have forgotten the salt, I cooked it at 375 for the first 30 minutes because I misread the instructions, and even with my inexperience and those blunders in the mix it turned out great. The dough is very sticky, I haven't figured out a way to do the kneading without getting it all over my hands (and then struggling to get it off). I highly recommend using wax paper to press it into the baking dish (that may be obvious, see "I do not bake much").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUST_NIC
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I loved this bread. We are not raisin fans so I used 1 cup of dried currants. That provided A LOT of fruit and I am glad I did not add anymore. My husband said more is better so I guess it is just personal preference. I also used just 1/2 TBSP of caraway seed. That provided a subtle flavor so I am glad I did not add more. My only complaint is the amount of flour added to the top before baking. Next time I will try using less flour and sifting a very fine coat over the top. Using a whole TBSP gave clumps of flour to some of the slices. This bread rises quite well and since we have plenty left over I will probably use another reviewer's suggestion and make french toast with it. I am sure it will taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this to go with our corned beef dinner and we ate it hot out of the oven. My dough was so soft and sticky I couldn't mark the 'X'on top and it rose up like a giant popover. Crunchy golden crust. Tender, yellow and slightly sweet inside. Only had 1 cup of raisins and it was enough. I wouldn't recommend omitting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This earned for me many compliments from my co-workers , including one who said she does not normally like Irish soda bread! It has a nice blend of flavors and just the right moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have nothing to compare this to as it's my first time having Irish Soda bread. That being said we loved it. I used all the raisins this time though I think as previous reviewers have mentioned 2 c would be plenty. I'm not normally a fan of caraway but together with the raisins it worked well in this. I feel like more reviewers should have noted that this dough is not the same consistency as one would normally think of bread. A few touched on it's "stickiness" but it's much more than that. I would say it is closer to the consistency of muffin or loaf bread mix. Finally, I baked it in a buttered deep dish pie pan for 65 minutes. It rose nicely and had a great crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent recipe! Loved the bread. Brought it to friends and they said it was the best they had ever tasted. I agree. Very easy to put together no mixer needed. Dough was very sticky, but kneading it in the bowl was easy. The finished loaf was beautiful. Needed almost the full 75 minutes to bake. I didn't have enough raisins so put half raisins and half currents. Loved the result. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made this bread for our dinner on Sunday with Corned beef and cabbage. It was somewhat dry but very tasty warmed with butter spread onto it. My daughter took some thick slices home with her to use for French toast. It sounded so good I actually made some for breakfast this morning. Very Good! I definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect as it is. No additions or subtractions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States