Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great launching point for the soda bread recipe of my dreams. The result was much more moist and tender than most soda breads I've tasted so that was a big plus. I think three cups of raisins was overdoing it, so I used two but it was still heavier on the raisins than I like. The full tablespoon of flour dusted on the top was also too excessive since it never really dissolved into the dough as much as pictured. I ended up with lots of raw flour on top. Next time I think I will reduce the raisin content to a more typical one to one and a half cups, grease AND flour the pan for a crustier bottom, and either reduce or eliminate dusting the top with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryagorski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just made this for my Irish Dinner and it turned out perfectly!! Now I need to share some of this loaf as it's way to much to keep around for just one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jnet
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this recipe as written (minus the caraway seeds cuz my store was ALL OUT) and it was delicious!! Very quick and easy to make. There was no reason to change anything. As stated it is a sticky dough so that never concerned me and once baked it looked beautiful and was scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Ok, I'm super confused!! Followed the recipe to a tee and its not baked in the center after 60 min!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe! Perfect texture and sweetness. I only added a touch more than 2 cups of raisins and I think that was fine. I think 3 would be too much. I was a little worried because the dough looked so lumpy and had very little form to it but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Best Irish soda bread ever and I have made many. Used 1 c. of cranberries, 1/2 cup raisins,& 1 1/2 c. golden raisins. Used my trusty cast iron skillet. Baked 65 min. Wonderful for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've never been a big fan of Irish Soda Bread, but this recipe changed my mind! It was so moist, with an excellent texture. I omitted the caraway and used a combo of raisins, dried cranberries, and dried apricots totaling 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Recommendations: Use 3 full cups raisins, 65 minutes at 350 conv oven. Didn't have caraway seed. Suggest dusting with sugar instead of flour. Used a 9" cake pan - puffed up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was really good. I did everything as written but I only used two cups of raisins (I think this was the perfect amount). I also didn't use caraway seeds because we do not really like them. Very moist and flavorful, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Really great! used the dried buttermilk and water. I forgot to add the water with the wet ingredients and had to remix it in after i had put it in the pan, but it STILL came out great! I used a 9x5 loaf pan and the middle is a little underdone after 65 minutes. Texture is definitely gooey like cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States