Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I made this for a St Patrick's Day party and had never made it before so wasn't sure how it would come out or taste. Everyone at the party raved about it. It came out really delicious and j would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is the best Irish Soda bread recipe! I've tried so many over the years and this one beats them all. It's so versatile too. I've used cranberries and walnuts in it. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
It's an excellent recipe, not too sweet, yet very tasty. I will bake it for a shorter time next time, as I found 60 minutes too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Thornwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Turned out great even when I used yogurt instead of sour cream. I love this bread. I make it at least once a week and don't buy bread at the store anymore. Today I added cheese and onion powder in place of the caraway and raisins. I am having fun playing with this recipe. I do cut down a little on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Harder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I've never made Irish Soda Bread before but this recipe is a keeper! It's perfect and I didn't change a thing. Wasn't sure if it would turn out or not because it was so sticky but it's delicious. No need to look further for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Every year I try a different recipe for Irish Soda Bread on St. Pat's Day. This one is the best ever, and it will be the one I use from now on. EVERYONE loved it! It is so moist and flavorful, I ate it without spreading butter on it. I only used 2 cups of raisins as suggested by other reviewers and soaked them in hot water for about 5 minutes. I mixed all the dry ingredients with my stand mixer. I mixed the wet ingredients in a separate bowl with a wire whisk. Then I added the wet ingredients to the dry and mixed for about a minute with the stand mixer. I didn't bother to cut the slit or dust with flour. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I've been making bread for a long time but I've never made a soda bread. I tried this recipe and the bread turned out very well. The bread had a slight sweetness to it--just right for me. I used only two cups of raisins-- which was more than enough for me--and baked it in a cast iron skillet. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Wonderful recipe! Discovered (after I had begun) only had 1/4 cup raisins,so added craisins, chopped apricots, and finally gogi berries in order to come up with 3 cups total. It STILL came out very good and tasty! I have ordered raisins (black and golden) in bulk, so won't run out again soon! I will be making this recipe agin and again! I keep believing that I will read ALL the recipe directions, before starting, but I keep fooling myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I omitted the raisins and caraway, my goal was for this bread to accompany corned beef and cabbage. But followed the rest of recipe to the letter. It came out superb! There were many happy faces munching my bread at our feast and there was even an arm wrestling mach for the last slice, what a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: American Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I had 10 of my friends over for dinner and made two loaves. Super! everyone loved it. Its the same recipe I had when I was younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Cath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States