Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Simonowicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made this for the first time on St. Patrick's day along with corned beef and cabbage, and it was a HIT! It's a gorgeous looking bread and tasted amazing with butter on it. For breakfast the next day it was wonderful warmed up with butter, as the butter melted in and made this sweet bread taste like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Loved this recipe. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used 2 cups of raisens instead of 3 and 1 tea. of caraway seeds instead of 1 tbsp., and it was perfect. Really delicious! My friends liked it so much that they asked if they could take some home for their husbands to try. This was also an easy receipe to follow and make. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe is the best...not heavy like some Irish Bread. I added only 1-1/2 cups white raisins instead of 3 cups....really delicious! The caraway seeds add lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Just made it ! Was outstanding. I only used 2cups of raisins, was plenty ! Will make for sure again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've made this bread over and over again, it is a good solid recipe, however I omit the raisins and caraway seed, I also substitute some dark lager beer for some of the buttermilk,(1/2 cup buttermilk and 3/4 cup beer, or the other way around, depends on my mood) it gives it a nice wheat flavor and the aroma is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
A-MAZ-ING. Super easy, usually have most ingredients on hand (gotta remember to keep buttermilk in the fridge) and really tasty. Can't beat it for toasted breakfast bread although it is good as a side to a hearty soup or stew also. Here is how you deal with the sticky factor: scrape into your generously greased baking pan, spray entire top with cooking oil spray, lay a piece of plastic wrap over it and mold as needed. Remove plastic wrap, sprinkle with flour and make cut using a wetted sharp knife. Pop it in the oven. Return in an hour+ for mouthwatering goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great easy and very versatile. I used 1 cup raisins, 1 cup of :dried cranberries and a handful of slivered almonds. I never use caraway seeds, as I don't like the taste. Never lasts as everyone on the family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Excellent ...the best !!! cindyjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made three loaves of this bread, but the third loaf I added chopped apricots & some orange peel it gave a nice flavor. I gave a loaf to my friend and she thought it was amazing. This will have to go on my Facebook page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipes by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States