Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I've never had real Irish soda bread, but I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was not so good. It was very heavy, and because of the the grainy, heavy texture it didn't taste too great either. And, it looks nothing like the picture shown- when you use whole wheat flour, the bread is brown....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made this on Easter Sunday. Took one warm loaf to brunch and kept the other for myself. Only changes in recipe was to use half and half instead of milk and canola oil instead of vegetable. This bread is fantastic and will become a staple. A couple of days after baking this bread, cut off some slices, buttered both sides and pan fried them. Tossed on a plate and poured on some maple syrup. Made an outstanding breakfast as it went perfect with some good dark roast coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was just so-so. We did eat it with butter on it. I think next time, I will try this or a different one with a little less whole wheat flour in it. My kids did not like this at all and that is unusual. They usually like most types of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I did exactly what the recipe said and the bread is dry. Maybe it will be better tomorrow after it rest for awhile. Never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Wholesome, non-sweet whole wheat soda bread. Would get 5 stars if the photo was not so misleading: 1. Photo shows a white loaf, while whole wheat flour results in a darker denser loaf - not a problem but show it like it is!! 2. Photo shows a loaf obviously baked in a loaf pan, while the recipe calls for shaping the dough into round loaves, and baking on a baking sheet. Other than that, it is a good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first try at soda bread. I found my dough was way too sticky to form nice round cakes. I am not sure what I did wrong. I will try again, but maybe follow a different recipe to see if there is a difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarijj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I am new to making breads and had my doubts about this as I was preparing. I actually turned out really good. It was quick and easy to make. We enjoyed it with butter and honey. I used 1 tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup on milk for the buttermilk and did not change anything else. I am going to make this with beer cheese soup for our St. Patty's day party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thank Jesus and Mary - finally a real Irish recipe without the usual American dump-truckful of added white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this to go along with our St. Patrick's Day meal of Beef and Irish Stout Stew and Irish Champ (both excellent recipes from this site). This was my first time making Irish Soda Bread, so I felt like perhaps I didn't do it quite the justice it deserved. I did half the recipe. The dough was drier than perhaps it should've been, but I knew from experience making scones that I didn't want to over knead the dough, so I made the loaf the best I could and baked it. I think it was good, but maybe could be better with a bit more practice on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plainoctoberjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a delicious bread, quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe as listed and the bread turned out a lot lighter than other Irish Soda Bread recipes I have tried. This was a pleasant surprise since, given the quantity of whole wheat flour in the recipe, I had expected it to be more dense. If you are looking for the sweet style of Irish Soda Bread, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a tasty simple loaf give this a try. By the way, I don't know what the picture that accompanies this recipe is of, but I doubt it is of this predominantly whole-grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States