Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow this is GREAT!! I cut the recipe in half and I didn't have buttermilk so I used coconut milk kefir instead which I figured would work because it has the same kind of tang to it. I shaped the dough into a round loaf and sprinkled it with oats before I baked it and it came out gorgeous! A great thing to make when you have no eggs and not a lot of sugar on hand. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Great recipe. Its my first time making Irish Soda bread for my Irish bf. Added a few cloves of minced garlic and fresh thyme or the garden. Everything else is the same. Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arae
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I've never had real Irish soda bread, but I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was not so good. It was very heavy, and because of the the grainy, heavy texture it didn't taste too great either. And, it looks nothing like the picture shown- when you use whole wheat flour, the bread is brown....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made this on Easter Sunday. Took one warm loaf to brunch and kept the other for myself. Only changes in recipe was to use half and half instead of milk and canola oil instead of vegetable. This bread is fantastic and will become a staple. A couple of days after baking this bread, cut off some slices, buttered both sides and pan fried them. Tossed on a plate and poured on some maple syrup. Made an outstanding breakfast as it went perfect with some good dark roast coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was just so-so. We did eat it with butter on it. I think next time, I will try this or a different one with a little less whole wheat flour in it. My kids did not like this at all and that is unusual. They usually like most types of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I did exactly what the recipe said and the bread is dry. Maybe it will be better tomorrow after it rest for awhile. Never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Wholesome, non-sweet whole wheat soda bread. Would get 5 stars if the photo was not so misleading: 1. Photo shows a white loaf, while whole wheat flour results in a darker denser loaf - not a problem but show it like it is!! 2. Photo shows a loaf obviously baked in a loaf pan, while the recipe calls for shaping the dough into round loaves, and baking on a baking sheet. Other than that, it is a good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first try at soda bread. I found my dough was way too sticky to form nice round cakes. I am not sure what I did wrong. I will try again, but maybe follow a different recipe to see if there is a difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarijj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I am new to making breads and had my doubts about this as I was preparing. I actually turned out really good. It was quick and easy to make. We enjoyed it with butter and honey. I used 1 tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup on milk for the buttermilk and did not change anything else. I am going to make this with beer cheese soup for our St. Patty's day party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thank Jesus and Mary - finally a real Irish recipe without the usual American dump-truckful of added white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States