Irish Soda Bread V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Turned out ok, but didn't care for it. Won't bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I had a St Patrick day party. I emailed this recipe for a guest to bring . She made it exactly from recipe. It was a big hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Turned out great. Had it with our irish stew. Compllimented it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Ok, but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Classic irish soda bread- very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I've tested other soda bread recipes on AllRecipes, but I keep coming back to this one -- simple and perfect. It's a nice base for experimentation, too; I've tried it with currants and with rosemary, and it never fails to please. I do suggest, though, that you seek out *real* buttermilk (not that low-fat nonsense) if it's available in your area. You'll taste the difference, if you can keep your guests from scarfing the loaves up before you get a decent bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gillette
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Holy YUM!! This bread is so incredibly delicious - I've been thinking about it all day! I've neither had nor made this before, but it's my mum's favourite so I whipped it up last night. So easy and so GOOD! I didn't have buttermilk so I made some using milk and vinegar (1 tbsp/cup milk - let sit 10 min.) and it's still getting rave reviews. I got 2 round loaves, and the shapes came out a little different because I scored the top of one with an X and left the other one alone. The X loaf came out rounder while the untouched loaf rose upwards a little more. It kind of looks like a muffin. Aesthetically, I liked the X loaf better, but they taste equaly great. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Looks like a brick when it's taken out of the oven, but the bread has a great mild flavor that goes well with many hearty stews, or can be slathered with honey butter as a snack with a cup of tea. It's a very simple recipe. I like it and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow this is GREAT!! I cut the recipe in half and I didn't have buttermilk so I used coconut milk kefir instead which I figured would work because it has the same kind of tang to it. I shaped the dough into a round loaf and sprinkled it with oats before I baked it and it came out gorgeous! A great thing to make when you have no eggs and not a lot of sugar on hand. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Great recipe. Its my first time making Irish Soda bread for my Irish bf. Added a few cloves of minced garlic and fresh thyme or the garden. Everything else is the same. Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arae

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States