Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great bread. Mine didn't rise as much as the one pictured but no complaints on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jluna
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I added the sugar and like it very much that way. It took my oven almost 30 minutes to bake it all the way through and it came out really yummy! Oh, and we added some poppy seeds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cry32
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
So being Saint Patricks Day and all, I decided to try this recipe and was SO GLAD I did!!! I did take some if the other reviewers suggestions & added a 1/2tsp baking powder, 1/2tbs of sugar substituted red wine vinegar for the 'sour milk' portion, kneaded the bread about 7-8 times, note:the dough was very sticky, but once you knead it w extra flour it's perfect. I baked mine in my cast iron skillet, for about 30mis & half way through brushed it with and egg wash for that beautifully golden brown look. It turned out amazing, it puffed up perfectly, the texture was dence yet airy (you'll see what I mean when you make it) It got rave reviews from my family, especially my son who asked if I'd pack some for his snack the next day ;) I will definitely try this one again, it's WAY to easy not to. Also I think I might even try adding extra sugar, cinnamon & raisins for a lil twist!!! ENJOY #amateurbaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Simple and delicious! I used my pizza stone and added 1/2 tsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I would have given this a 5 star rating, but the cooking time was way off. I made the recipe almost as instructed (I didn't have a cast iron skillet so I used a thick glass pie pan)and baked it for 15 minutes as instructed. Now, I don't know if the cast iron makes that much difference or if I had the loaf too thick, but it was totally NOT done. I cooked it for another 15 minutes and it was fine. I do plan to make this again and perhaps add some herbs to it as others suggested. It was easy, few ingredients (cheap to make)and delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great, simple recipe. Made it as written. I kneaded the dough several times. That was the trick for me! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Oh my gosh this was good. I was scared after reading reviews saying if you don't measure right...you'll mess it up. Then my mother telling me that sometimes it's hard to make this correctly. This was my first time and I'm not an expert cook by no means! It turned out...perfect! Husband loved it. The only thing I did differently was use buttermilk like others suggested. I want to try it with milk to see the difference. I always have milk here. :) Will be making this for breakfast too! I also just put the dough on a regular cookie sheet. Perfect! Great with the Irish Guinness Beef Stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
bake for30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This came out exactly like the soda bread I remember. I baked it on parchment in a pie plate, and increased bake time to about 30 minutes. Legit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Its good, and simple and tasty. But the loaf was still wet on the inside after 25 minutes. I used buttermilk but I don't think that should change the timing. I also added maybe a 1/4 cup extra milk because it the dough was too dry. So it may have been me. It needed another 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Guss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States