Irish Soda Bread in a Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this for St. Patricks day. It was the first time I made irish soda bread. It was fabulous and my family loved it for sandwiches the next few days. I have made it several times since and it is a wonderful bread. I have tried it with different dried fruits and with nuts and a little sugar. I've also made it with lemon juice instead of vinegar and it was just as good. It is always a hit. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have used another Irish soda bread recipe for years, which contains butter. I tried this one for the first time yesterday and loved it--it's better than the one with butter. I used white whole wheat flour and added 1Tbsp caraway seeds and 1 cup of raisins. Easy to make, easy to clean up, great texture and very sliceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
First of all I have to admit that bread is not my culinary specialty by any means and second,I have never ever tried Irish Soda Bread.I made this as a substitute for our usual dinner rolls to go with St. Patty's Day Boiled Dinner.I liked how simple it seemed and that I had all of the ingredients on hand.I followed this recipe but w/ another reviewer's suggestions of using buttermilk, dusting w/ corn meal,cooking on a baking sheet and cutting an X in the top then brushing w/ beaten egg 8 minutes before done.The bread looked like all of the other pictures so I'm assuming that I made it right except that to me and my family it tasted like Biscuits.Is it supposed to taste like a sliced version of Biscuits? Hmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect, simple, quick - LOVE. For visual and taste pleasure I added caraway seed and sea salt to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRACY C.
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Changed only the topping. melted butter and Italian seasoning and brushed on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I used it last year with 92 high school students learning to cook. We made a ton of it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANPOD97

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very easy and sooo tasty! I have a 12' cast iron skillet that I bake it in. The dough doesn't fill the skillet, but that doesn't matter, it bakes up fine. I use mine with butter, make small sandwiches with it. It's a good all 'round bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. Quick and easy, but great flavor and texture. I made a double recipe, which fits well in a typical full size iron skillet. I used bread flour, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Since I made a double recipe, I baked it for about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
So easy to do and so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very popular at my house and easy to make in a pinch. Just like the Emerald Isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States