Irish Soda Bread from County Cork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Irish Tip: To stop your breads being too hard and TOO crunchy on the outside, when you turn out your bread drape a clean teacloth over the top until the bread is cooled a little. The steam trapped in the cloth softens the crust just enough to make the bread fabulously easy to eat. DON'T WORRY YOUR BREAD WILL NOT GO SOGGY. This authentic Irish tip works VERY well.It also works for homebaked or all breads and particularly baguettes. ILOVEIRISHBREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. Since my family isn't crazy about raisins, I omit them and I cut the sugar back to a 1/2 cup. I lightly knead the dough and form it into a round loaf and cut a deep cross in the middle like a traditional soda bread. It's a sweet, crunchy, and crumbly slice of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was great. I used only one cup of raisins, and baked it 45 minutes in a 10 inch, deep-dish pie plate. It was really hard to mix that much flour into such a small amount of butter, next time I may use the mixer. After mixing in the milk and egg, I had a lot of dry flour still in the bottom of the bowl. I finally mixed it up with my hands, and patted it into the pan. We ate it warm, and it had excellent taste, with or without butter. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good, but I won't use a 9" pan again! Mine overflowed a little, but otherwise it was great. Nice texture, perfect amount of sweetness. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have found that this one is the best. I have been making your Irish soda bread recipe for the past three years now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Mine was done (and a little over cooked at that) at 40 minutes. Next time I will only use 1 cup of raisins, they were sort of over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I just baked this recipe and it turned out sweet, rich and crunchy on the outside. Excellent. I needed a self-rising flour recipe since I was out of regular. Also I had to use yogurt rather than milk. This is so good I am going to experiment with dates, blueberries and raspberries in place of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is one of the better soda breads that I have made. I left out the raisins because I don't like raisins in my soda bread, but otherwise I followed the directions exactly. It was a sweet bread with a tasty texture (like another reviewer stated - it has a cornbread-type of consistency). My whole family enjoyed it, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Nice taste, half of the family ate it the other did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
True to its name. My grandmother is also from County Cork and this is exactly the recipe she uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia V-C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States