Irish Soda Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have been making these cookies for years and now everyone looks for them each St. Patrick's Day. A few months ago, I found out I have Celiac disease. After making 3 batches of this for everyone else (schools, work, family, etc!) I just tried a gluten free version. I substituted the flour with gluten-free all purpose flour, added 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum and followed the rest of the recipe as I always do (raisins, 1/2 cup buttermilk, no caraway seeds, dropped on cookie sheet). I needed to bake the gluten free cookies about 16-17 minutes, as opposed to 12 for the regular batch. They're still more cake-like and less like a cookie (but they are still warm so they may just need some time). It's not EXACT but it is very, very close to these cookies! I'm still learning about baking with different gluten free flours and will post an update as I tweak this recipe going forward. So far I am so happy to be able to enjoy these gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Will keep for every St. Patrick's Day. This recipe was easy to make and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except for rolling-cutting (I'm not great at rolled cookies, or pastry crust, etc.) so I just dropped them and flattened them a bit before baking. Tasty. The caraway seed was just right, but I might try more currants next time, or some orange zest. But they will be made again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and they are perfection. They are like sweet little versions of the soda bread. I made these for B&B guests coming in and I don't think there will be any left by the time they arrive. So nice to offer guests around St. Patty's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Delicious, delicate cookie. I treated like thumbprints and topped with half a maraschino cherry, and some with aprioct jam. These have less butter and more flavor than the other thumbprints I have made in the past. I made them without the caraway and currants, but intend to try them with those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really good cookies! They are just sweet enough not over the top sweet like most cookies. We like crunchy cookies so I let the cookies cool for about 10-15 minutes and then bake them again for 10 more minutes. That way they stay crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I'm tossing all my other soda bread recipes -- this one is awesome! Start to finish in an hour, and they are delicious! Easy to serve as well. I must have made them thicker, because I only got about 20 -- but they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made these today for an early St. Pat's Day treat. They were delicious, although I got 30 cookies (not 36) rolled by hand. I added a little extra buttermilk, but then it got too sticky and I had to go back and add in some more flour. Might have had to do with the fact that I was handling the dough by hand rather than using cookie cutters. Also, subbed raisins for currants, because that's how my family has always made soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CtUsaMom
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We liked this recipe. With or without caraway seeds! I am going to cut back on sugar a bit though. We thought they were a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CtUsaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I just sampled some right out of the oven, and they're delicious! So easy to make. Did not add caraway seeds, but did add Craisins to half the batter. I can see adding other dried fruits, like apricots, as well. I cut back on the sugar a bit (which I usually do), and they were still plenty sweet for me. Instead of rolling/cutting, I just dropped by tablespoons onto sheets lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Baked 11 min and let rest for 5 min on sheets; they pretty much held their shape and are almost biscuit-like. A light glaze would be nice, too. Thanks for the recipe, Laria! I'll enjoy them this St Patty's Day weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andysbirde
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Did the recipe exactly as instructed. Rolled them out and cut in a four leaf clover for an Irish funeral I was attending. They baked on sil pads in a gas oven for 11 minutes, middle oven and turned out perfectly. I made a very light icing and sprinkled green sprinkles on them. Not one cookie left, made 26 cut out cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States