Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This didn't work for me and I've been baking for many years. Is it supposed to turn out like a giant, tough biscuit? The first time I try a recipe, I follow it exactly. If it turns out good, I will at least be sure of what will happen if I make changes. This dough was too wet to work with and the end result tasted like a regular biscuit but the texture was just wrong. I won't mess with this recipe again. There are better bread recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Easy to put together, and turns out soft and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this today and it was delicious! Easy hint. freeze the butter and grate it into the flour. Gave it a wonderful crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
As close as you can get to Ireland. I didn't have the seeds and missed them but no matter, the bread was a bit of Irish heaven. Advice from other reviews that work well: cook about an hour and watch your oven temp. I divided the recipe in two and it was perfect. One loaf I used the cast iron skillet (traditional) the other I used a glass baking dish and formed a ball. Both came out fine. I cut my X before I brush the egg on top, it helps it keep the shape nicely. Topping with tin foil worked well, but I covered them at 40 minutes and cooked another 20min, for a total of one hour. When It comes out, I brush a bit of butter over the top to soften it some. Wonderful, simple and delicious. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is an outstanding recipe. I followed the directions exactly as written, but omitted the raisins and caraway seeds (personal preference). I baked it in a lightly oiled 9" cast iron skillet and it had a beautiful golden brown crust and a wonderful soft textured interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This recipe was easy and the bread came out perfect!The crust was absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I seem to be the only one that this has happened to, but I had to add another egg and then about three tablespoons of water just to have the dough be kneadable. If I make this again, I'll likely cut the flour down and see if that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
wow, i have made this bread twice and have been amazed with the results. the first time, i subbed fennel for caraway seeds and omitted the raisins and it was incredible. the second time, i used caraway but omitted raisins- also incredible. it was a big hit at my st. patty's party. it has only taken about an hour to be evenly golden and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for 5
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
My family loved it. It only took about an hour to cook, and looked beautiful. When I cut it, the center of the loaf crumbled, not sure what went wrong (cooked too long?). It was still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' for 5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
We all loved it. Very easy. My husband ate 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States