Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party and it got rave reviews! Honestly this was the best Shepherd's Pie I have ever eaten. I followed the directions almost exactly. My local grocer did not have ground lamb so I used ground beef instead and followed the rest of the recipe as written and it was delicious! The entire tray was eaten in only a few minutes, thanks Chef John this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe took a bit of prep work, but it was well worth it according to my DH. I was planning on using cheddar cheese in the potatoes, but surprisingly I found the Dubliner Cheese at Trader Joe's. I wanted to keep the recipe as close as possible to what was submitted. I did use ground beef and skipped the cayenne pepper. Other than that I made it as listed. This is going into my recipe file and will be my go to recipe for Shepherd's Pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Bland!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is wonderful.   I have no idea how anyone could call it bland - it is a delightful blend of amazing flavors. Everyone absolutely loved it!   I changed nothing except I had to substitute half a green pepper for half of the onion because I discovered that I only had half an onion in my fridge.  I think it's probably important to be patient when cooking the ground lamb to allow the liquid to evaporate (see the video). The potato topping was to die for - the Dubliner cheese (as opposed to a regular cheddar) added an amazing distinctive flavor.   If you use another meat and a different cheese, it's probably still really good,  but those changes would turn this recipe into something else completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this with lean ground beef and added a bit of stout beer to the gravy. We enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
it was excellent,everybody loved it,will make it again this st. patty's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! Very versatile, easy to make, and makes a great meal! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The best recipe I've found for shepherd's pie. I found that lamb and cinnamon are naturals together, so thanks to this recipe, I now use cinnamon with lamb in many other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this last night using beef which was all I had in my refrigerator. It turned out so great! My husband loved it and took the leftovers to work for his lunch. it really is easy to follow and the meat mixture is so fragrant and tasty I really loved it. I added a dash of chili powder to the meat mixture just to give it some bite and what can I say - they gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeba

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I've had ground lamb in the freezer for months and was searching for something to do with it. This recipe was perfect. The flavors blended so well and complemented one another flawlessly. Definitely on the "must make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States