Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made the following changes: I halved the recipe substituting ground beef for lamb, thyme for rosemary, mixed vegetables for peas and carrots, and I used half each mashed potato and cauliflower for the topping. I soaked up the excess fat with paper towels before adding the flour, then fooled the directions as listed. This dish was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe last night. It was delicious! I didn't have high hopes for an irish dish, but it surprised me! My kids loved it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Awesome. I used ground beef, beef broth instead of water, and old cheddar instead of dubliner cheese. Can't wait to try with lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl66
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simple to make but a lot of steps. I used 1/2 lamb and 1/2 hamburger (93%) and used beef broth in place of water. Dubliner cheese is ideal and melts nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vincentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I actually used turkey burger with beef bouillon. It was very good. Since I made this on St. Patrick's Day, I added green food coloring to the whipped potatoes. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I just made this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party and it got rave reviews! Honestly this was the best Shepherd's Pie I have ever eaten. I followed the directions almost exactly. My local grocer did not have ground lamb so I used ground beef instead and followed the rest of the recipe as written and it was delicious! The entire tray was eaten in only a few minutes, thanks Chef John this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe took a bit of prep work, but it was well worth it according to my DH. I was planning on using cheddar cheese in the potatoes, but surprisingly I found the Dubliner Cheese at Trader Joe's. I wanted to keep the recipe as close as possible to what was submitted. I did use ground beef and skipped the cayenne pepper. Other than that I made it as listed. This is going into my recipe file and will be my go to recipe for Shepherd's Pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Bland!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is wonderful.   I have no idea how anyone could call it bland - it is a delightful blend of amazing flavors. Everyone absolutely loved it!   I changed nothing except I had to substitute half a green pepper for half of the onion because I discovered that I only had half an onion in my fridge.  I think it's probably important to be patient when cooking the ground lamb to allow the liquid to evaporate (see the video). The potato topping was to die for - the Dubliner cheese (as opposed to a regular cheddar) added an amazing distinctive flavor.   If you use another meat and a different cheese, it's probably still really good,  but those changes would turn this recipe into something else completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States