Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I cooked two cups of lentils and used them instead of lamb and it's wonderful. I used coarse mustard instead of ketchup and plain Greek yogurt instead of sugar. Delicious and meat eaters were just as pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe as directed but added some Montreal seasoning, ketchup and pepper after tasting it. Too bland, and I am not sure why I can't find a pie recipe with layers of flavor. I am not sure how to fix this, maybe use beef broth instead of water? I really liked the potato topping. koriander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
When I was making this I wondered why I was going to all this work. After one bite, I had my answer. It was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delish! Made with cheddar cheese instead of the other cheese and it turned out great. I will make again. Make sure to salt the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Absolutley delicious. Mad no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Kalan really enjoyed this. It didn't need any modifications. I did use ground beef instead of lamb and cheddar cheese (or whatever is on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kwald00
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe with ground beef and followed the recipe as stated above. The only problem was that it was too liquidy. I think maybe because beef renders more fat than lamb?? Anyhow, it was still delicious! Next time I make it, I will drain the beef before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwald00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made one minor change to this recipe: I used 1lb ground beef and 1lb ground lamb because Wegman's only had one pkg of ground lamb left. Everything else is exactly according to the recipe. My husband loved it! I thought it was delicious too. I didn't use Dubliner's cheese but I did use another Irish Cheddar. Next time I hope to make it with all lamb. Also next time I'd cut down on the liquid because mine didn't thicken as much as I would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Just so so. Not much flavor imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made it exactly like Chef John did the first time. Second time, I wanted to substitute a stout beer for the water. It intensified the flavors. Yum! The third time, I used Substitute "Low Carb Mashed Cauliflower" for the mashed potato crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States