Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was beyond good! Made with beef and beef broth but changed nothing else. Friends who are beyond picky ate it and said several times how good it was. This will go in my permanent recipe book. Only changes I wil make when using beef will be to drain grease after browning beef, delete the cinnamon and use 1 tsp of rosemary but everything else is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I tweaked it a little. I don't eat lamb. I usually just use whatever I have in the kitchen and don't worry about particular types of cheese or veggies, etc. Regardless, this is a good recipe and I will make it again. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I watched the video first and then made the dish for New Year's Eve Day. Everyone LOVED it! I used ground venison instead of beef or lamb and it tasted fabulous. Loved the Irish Cheddar in the potatoes. Thanks Chef John, this is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Vilsack Brennan
Living In: Vauxhall, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe was delicious! The only thing I changed was that I didn't add the Irish cheese to the potatoes since I didn't have any on hand and used extra cream cheese. I also added quite a bit more garlic as we are a garlic loving family! Used fresh carrots that I par boiled ahead of time and only used 1 lb of lamb as that is all we had on hand, so upped the amount of peas and potatoes. This was so yummy I will have to make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made this with grass-fed ground beef since I had a couple pounds I needed to use and didn't want to do my usual with it. Works very well with beef, but it does require a little tweaking to makeup for the loss of flavor when using ground lamb. The hardest part was getting my wife to not eat the delicious potato mixture before I added it to the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! Swiped out 2lb of lamb for 1lb of turkey and chopped eggplant...was so delicious...hubby tried to eat it all in one night! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this several times for family and friends and each time it is a hit. I have served it to those that are less than excited about lamb and they have commented that it tastes much better than they expected it would. I would guard against using all of the mashed potatoes as they can easily overpower the good stuff underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
We loved this dish! We felt the veal was a little strong of a flavor for us so might will try half veal and half ground beef next time, but will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I always hated making Shepherds Pie, it was so boring:( But John's recipe was just what I needed to create a new version of Shepherds Pie:) I love this recipe. I changed his recipe just a bit to my husbands liking.( Who is Irish) Instead of peas & carrots I used green beans & mushrooms. I also added French fried onions on top of the potatoes. I hope my husband and I will enjoy this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States