Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this last night also using ground beef and it received rave reviews at dinner. I did use beef broth for the liquid since I had to use ground beef. I thoroughly enjoyed it, which is unusual for me. Also, hubby, adult son, and teenage daughter ate it happily-no complaints from anyone! Hurray!! Chef John, I enjoyed watching you prepare it, that helps me when I am trying something for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
O I made this tonight with some provisions using hamburger, beef broth and green beans and carrots because i did not have lamb or peas.Used the directions and all other ingredients. It was fabulous and I deal with a 14 yr old critic who asked for seconds, this alone immediately put this into my favorites recipe box. Thanks John, I enjoy your light hearted humor while cooking, thank you for the flavor of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Omg de-lish. Eyeballed ingredents (as we irish do) and it came out perfect. Dubliner cheese works really well w the potatoes. Perfect alternative for those who dont like corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this with the suggested ground lamb, it came out great. It had alot of flavor everyone in the family loved it. I have made Shepherds Pie before but this one by far is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! This is truly the traditional shepherds pie. As the allrecipes.com video on this states…Shepherds raised sheep not cow, hence the use of lamb and not beef and the name "Shepherds Pie”. I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. I did make a mushroom gravy to go on top. A great one dish meal; for a crowd, or dinner for two with plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I am not a big fan of Shepherds Pie but decided to make this for St. Patricks day. Wow! What a surprise; nothing bland about this dish! There is a wonderful blend of flavors. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had to use ground cow meat (not lamb, cowboy pie? Ha!) But it was delicious any way. Perfect recipe, and Chef John is amaizing, great teacher and makes cooking and enjoyable experience. Sorry for my poor English!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe was devine! I think the cinnamon and the fresh rosemary are what make this dish a stand-out. I used ground buffalo because that's what I had in the freezer, but next time I'll try the lamb. The Irish cheese, cream cheese and egg yolk make the topping really special and alllow for that lovely browning of the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egeoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal! i used ground beef because I don't eat babies and 2c. chicken broth in place of the water. It came out exactly like the video. The Dubliner cheese really makes it. YUUUUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
It was wonderful it was the first time I made shepherds pie. I thought it was time consuming to made as you have a lot going on at one time, however my husband and daughter loved it and I have enough for another meal.Next time I will use all beef,I use 1/2 beef1/2 lamb I do not like lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States