Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
O I made this tonight with some provisions using hamburger, beef broth and green beans and carrots because i did not have lamb or peas.Used the directions and all other ingredients. It was fabulous and I deal with a 14 yr old critic who asked for seconds, this alone immediately put this into my favorites recipe box. Thanks John, I enjoy your light hearted humor while cooking, thank you for the flavor of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this last night also using ground beef and it received rave reviews at dinner. I did use beef broth for the liquid since I had to use ground beef. I thoroughly enjoyed it, which is unusual for me. Also, hubby, adult son, and teenage daughter ate it happily-no complaints from anyone! Hurray!! Chef John, I enjoyed watching you prepare it, that helps me when I am trying something for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Omg de-lish. Eyeballed ingredents (as we irish do) and it came out perfect. Dubliner cheese works really well w the potatoes. Perfect alternative for those who dont like corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I've never had a cottage pie that I liked, they're always too bland, but made this one tonight on a whim, just because CJ hardly ever disappoints. I used ground beef and mixed veg, omitting rosemary and cinnamon, as they seemed more suited to lamb than beef. After tasting the beef mix, I wanted to boost the beefy flavor, so added 2 teaspoons beef base. Perfect flavor! I was worried that the beef mix was too thick, but after baking it was just right. I might add more cheese to the potatoes next time, or even toss some in with the beef. The bones of this recipe are great, producing a perfect pie that holds together but isn't dry at all. It could be easily adapted to other cuisines, using Mexican spices and topping with cornbread, or using soy sauce, Hoisin sauce and wasabi mashed potatoes for Asian flair. Finally, a really, really good gluten-free casserole! Thanks, Chef. And thanks for a new trick to remove oil from ground meat. I'll never try to drain hot oil again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
ugh! way too greasy for my family. I would drain the meat before adding the flour next time. My family doesn't appreciate intense flavors, so I will cut down on all the spices and use a more mild cheddar in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! This is truly the traditional shepherds pie. As the allrecipes.com video on this states…Shepherds raised sheep not cow, hence the use of lamb and not beef and the name "Shepherds Pie”. I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. I did make a mushroom gravy to go on top. A great one dish meal; for a crowd, or dinner for two with plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is one of the best Shepard's Pie's I've had in a long time!! Really liked that you could taste the cinnamon. I also added chopped celery and fresh carrots(note be sure to either cut fresh carrots really small or cook them before hand).I also suggest draining some of the grease from the pan after browning the meat. I think my favorite part of this recipe is the Dubliner cheese, it made the potatoes really unique!! Made this for St. Patrick's Day, and I will definately make it again, though my husband told me it better not be a whole year before we have it for dinner again!! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is wonderful.   I have no idea how anyone could call it bland - it is a delightful blend of amazing flavors. Everyone absolutely loved it!   I changed nothing except I had to substitute half a green pepper for half of the onion because I discovered that I only had half an onion in my fridge.  I think it's probably important to be patient when cooking the ground lamb to allow the liquid to evaporate (see the video). The potato topping was to die for - the Dubliner cheese (as opposed to a regular cheddar) added an amazing distinctive flavor.   If you use another meat and a different cheese, it's probably still really good,  but those changes would turn this recipe into something else completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I had to use ground cow meat (not lamb, cowboy pie? Ha!) But it was delicious any way. Perfect recipe, and Chef John is amaizing, great teacher and makes cooking and enjoyable experience. Sorry for my poor English!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Wow! This is great! Only sub was chicken broth for water and I went long on the Dubliner cheese too. For onions I like to use Shallots as i love the flavor. Very nicely done, Chef John! All who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States