Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ground lamb is typically pretty fatty, so I substituted half with ground turkey and drained the grease before adding the flour. Also I don't tolerate dairy, so instead of cheese added 2 yolks and one egg to the mashed potatoes, I didn't bother peeling them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was great, exactly as written. I'm usually an experimenter, but this one seemed perfect, as is, and it definitely was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made this recipe exactly as written the first time and thought it was delicious. Very flavorful and filling. The second time I made it, I adjusted it just a little for my taste and it was even better (for me). Instead of ketchup I used Sriracha sauce, and used Guinness for half of the water. Definitely in my rotation, but I will try it with other meats as the lamb was expensive. I'm also going to add some garlic to the mashed potatoes; helps keep the vampires away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
By mistake I bought ground lamb instead of beef-but it wasn't a mistake making this recipe!!! Oh so good !!! And so easy to make...nice on a cold Saturday night eating in front of our fireplace! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Krasno
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this tonight and the family lived it! Even the 2 year old asked more. I will made this again. I added a small tub of ricotta cheese to the mashed potatoes made them even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Krasno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love lamb and love this recipe. It makes A LOT though so make sure you have a crowd to feed! It's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
lovely. The paprika is something that never would have crossed my mind, It added a really special secondary zing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So good ! Added a bit of Worcestershire to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I intended to make this recipe exactly as directed until I got to the grocery store and realized lamb is $9.99 a pound and this calls for two pounds. [Beware!] Since there are two of us, I cut the entire recipe in half. My grocery (Meijer) doesn't carry frozen peas and carrots, so I had to buy a bag of each. [Beware!] My grocery also doesn't carry the cheese called for in this recipe, so I used the only "Irish" cheese I could find which was aged cheddar. [Beware] I don't have time to shop at multiple groceries or specialty stores. You'd think I would've said "heck with it" at this point, but I proceeded. As I said, I made the recipe EXACTLY as directed (except I cut it in half). It was just okay. A lot of work for an "okay" recipe. I would advise cutting out the cayenne pepper--it's not needed and seems to throw the flavor profile off. I might also use beef broth instead of water to give the gravy a little more flavor. That's my two cents. Sorry, Chef John. Usually I enjoy your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best shepherds pie I made so far! I used ground beef and cheddar cheese and added some corn, otherwise I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne

Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States