Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Really good! Hubby & I love lamb so this was a fun way to celebrate St. Paddy's Day, having something new to try. The cayenne gave this dish a nice kick. Looking forward to sharing this with others next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We made it tonight for St Patrick's Day. Lamb is expensive! I will make it again but I'll probably use ground pork. The meat mixture is tasty and a little sweet. I've never cooked with rutabagas before. They turned such a lovely yellow. The colors were beautiful. The potato topping was sharp and rich. Altogether, yummy! Changing out the meat would make it affordable for most budgets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Look no further for an authentic tasting Shepherd's pie! I lived in Ireland for a year. Although Shepherd's pie is not regularly served in restaurants, it is more of a "family" dish (think American meatloaf or tuna casserole). Made this today with half lamb half beef. Left out the rosemary (glad I did), and subbed cut green beans (pre-cooked to soften) instead of peas because my husband doesn't like peas. Otherwise pretty much followed exactly. The cinnamon is key! The entire family loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made this 3 times. it is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I didn't find the flavors spectacular. There are a lot of ingredients and not sure this was worth the work. Husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is the first shepherd's pie I've ever made and this recipe was followed almost to the letter. The filling was made as directed except I used beef instead of lamb and beef broth instead of water. It seemed to need more flavor (I love flavor!) and it was a little too runny. Perhaps I could add more ketchup, less broth, and some other spices to play around with the flavors next time. For the mashed potatoes, I used red potatoes. They were boiled with garlic and salt. I melted 2 TBSP butter and 3 oz of cream cheese together, adding cashew milk to thin out a bit while still leaving it thick and creamy. Potatoes and creamy sauce were blended in a mixer. Cayenne pepper was added along with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Forgot to add the cheese before starting to spread on top of the filling...oops! Will definitely add that next time! I will be playing around with the filling flavors, but it's a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Tried this for dinner. My family loves Shepherd's Pie, but I never did. But after I tried this recipe, I decided I like it too. The grocery only had one pound of lamb so I had to sub in one pound of beef, but cost wise I probably would have done it that way anyway. The cheese in the potatoes is die for. My kids told me I should add the Irish cheese to my normal smashed potatoes from now on. I'll admit I did add a splash of Worcestershire sauce to the meat, but I don't think it needed it. Cannot wait to make this again. Thank you for sharing Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
love the recipe, but, it's too much for just 2 people{or at least these 2 people]. I cut the mix for 2 servings and I have question. how do you get 1/4 egg yolk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Way too much water which make it really soupy. Next time I just not follow this to the t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ground lamb is typically pretty fatty, so I substituted half with ground turkey and drained the grease before adding the flour. Also I don't tolerate dairy, so instead of cheese added 2 yolks and one egg to the mashed potatoes, I didn't bother peeling them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States