Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is the first shepherd's pie I've ever made and this recipe was followed almost to the letter. The filling was made as directed except I used beef instead of lamb and beef broth instead of water. It seemed to need more flavor (I love flavor!) and it was a little too runny. Perhaps I could add more ketchup, less broth, and some other spices to play around with the flavors next time. For the mashed potatoes, I used red potatoes. They were boiled with garlic and salt. I melted 2 TBSP butter and 3 oz of cream cheese together, adding cashew milk to thin out a bit while still leaving it thick and creamy. Potatoes and creamy sauce were blended in a mixer. Cayenne pepper was added along with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Forgot to add the cheese before starting to spread on top of the filling...oops! Will definitely add that next time! I will be playing around with the filling flavors, but it's a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Tried this for dinner. My family loves Shepherd's Pie, but I never did. But after I tried this recipe, I decided I like it too. The grocery only had one pound of lamb so I had to sub in one pound of beef, but cost wise I probably would have done it that way anyway. The cheese in the potatoes is die for. My kids told me I should add the Irish cheese to my normal smashed potatoes from now on. I'll admit I did add a splash of Worcestershire sauce to the meat, but I don't think it needed it. Cannot wait to make this again. Thank you for sharing Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
love the recipe, but, it's too much for just 2 people{or at least these 2 people]. I cut the mix for 2 servings and I have question. how do you get 1/4 egg yolk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Would have been better if didn't follow directions way too much water which make it really soupy. Next time I just not follow this to the t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ground lamb is typically pretty fatty, so I substituted half with ground turkey and drained the grease before adding the flour. Also I don't tolerate dairy, so instead of cheese added 2 yolks and one egg to the mashed potatoes, I didn't bother peeling them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was great, exactly as written. I'm usually an experimenter, but this one seemed perfect, as is, and it definitely was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made this recipe exactly as written the first time and thought it was delicious. Very flavorful and filling. The second time I made it, I adjusted it just a little for my taste and it was even better (for me). Instead of ketchup I used Sriracha sauce, and used Guinness for half of the water. Definitely in my rotation, but I will try it with other meats as the lamb was expensive. I'm also going to add some garlic to the mashed potatoes; helps keep the vampires away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
By mistake I bought ground lamb instead of beef-but it wasn't a mistake making this recipe!!! Oh so good !!! And so easy to make...nice on a cold Saturday night eating in front of our fireplace! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Krasno
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this tonight and the family lived it! Even the 2 year old asked more. I will made this again. I added a small tub of ricotta cheese to the mashed potatoes made them even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Krasno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love lamb and love this recipe. It makes A LOT though so make sure you have a crowd to feed! It's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States