Irish Shamrock Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leanne
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Added a couple extra tablespoons of sugar to the recipe and rolled the dough out on parchment paper for cutting into shapes. Topped with green sugar for added sweetness. Easy to make and look festive for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this recipe using unsalted butter and 3 T of sugar. The cookies are a little salty, but not unpleasantly so. I thought the pistachio flavor was just right. I chilled the dough overnight, and the cookies rolled out nicely and baked well. I took these cookies to a Girl Scout event on St. Patrick's Day and the scouts loved them. The parents thought they were good, too. They are not my favorite cookies, but they are good cookies, and they were perfect for the occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The dough, plus another 1+ tbs. of sugar, mixed up quickly but was too sticky for rolling. I worked in a little flour, a tbs. at a time, until I could pat it into an even layer about 3/8 inch thick. Then, I was able to cut it out and bake. I liked the buttery flavor with a light pistachio taste. Green sugar sprinkled on top made them sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It just say use your normal store bought baking mix and put some pistacho, buu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dctatman
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
If you can get the traditional sugar cookie idea out of your mind, these cookies are kind of fun. The pistachio flavor is hardly noticeable. The salt in the Bisquick is what catches your attention. Like others, I added 2T of white sugar to the recipe. I also used 10X to cover my rolling surface. By the time I got to the end of my batch, I was rolling the dough into a ball, rolling it in 10X, then used my rolling pin. Even after chilling for a few hours, the dough was stickier than most sugar cookies I've made. All in all, it was another fun cookie to make with my kids. The flavor is not great, but the color is festive, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dctatman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I’m planning the St. Patrick’s Day party for my daughter’s class. I can’t wait to make these..they will be a hit with the kids! I found some cello candy bags from Box and Wrap that have shamrocks on the bags….so cute. It’s the extra special touches that make the party great. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I like my cookies to be sweet and these were no where close to sweet. They were so salty that I couldn't even enjoy them. Even with frosting they still weren't "good" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Tasty cookie, love the pistachio flavor, and that they are so easy to make. Next time I would add another tablespoon or two of sugar and use unsalted butter, although maybe just the addition of a bit more sugar would balance the saltiness. I rolled them out using a bit of baking mix instead of flour, and had no trouble at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good I did take others advice and I put in 2 tablespoons of white sugar. I didn't roll the dough I did put in the fridge for 10 mins and used a cookie scoop and dipped a glass in sugar to flaten the dough. I got 16 cookies when I did it this way out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These cookies are absolutely delicious and the first "rolled out" cookies I have made in years. I had a shamrock cookie cutter and wanted to make cookies for my grandchildren and picked this recipe. Didn't change a thing and I couldn't believe how easy the dough was to work with. Thank you MBMCD for submitting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States