Irish Shamrock Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I read in prior reviews that the dough is sticky and complaints about not being able to roll the dough out. My complaint is that no where in the directions does it say that the dough NEEDS to be chilled. BUT it must be chilled (at least 2 hrs)in order to be able to roll and cut them out! Secondly, use unsalted butter because this cookie is salty already from the Packaged ingredients. It's not a very good tasting cookie as it's so, so salty with only a hint of sweetness. I added an additional tablespoon of sugar to it but I don't think thats enough. Not a very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love this recipe. My Mom made it for me growing up. She clipped it out of the newspaper. It is a little salty, but pistachios are salty too. SOMETHING VERY IMPORTANT TO DO: Use only 1/2 cup margarine (1 stick) or the dough will be far too sticky to roll out. My mom made this every St. Patrick's Day and m brother and sister and I all loved it. I don't know if the margarine thing is a typo or what. But 1/2 cup is what the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by professionalmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I tried these cookies and they were fab! I had to make myself stop tasting the dough. I iced them with the Sugar Cookie Icing on this website. The almond flavoring in the icing slightly masked the pistachio flavor of the cookies, but they were still very wonderful! I've already bought 4 boxes of pistachio pudding mix to be ready to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
awful cookies, too sticky to roll, maybe they should be chilled first, but don't bother! We patted them into rounds to bake. Pudding adds no flavor, very little green color and baking mix made them way toooooo salty. waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used margarine instead of butter, and I added an additional two tablespoons of sugar (for a total of three). The green wasn't as dark as I'd like, so I added about five or six drops of green food coloring. Great! I agree with previous reviewers who say these are a little salty, so it's a good thing that we like our salt! I think different pudding combos would be nice, too. Oh, and instead of trying to roll-and-cut them, I just dropped them by rounded teaspoons on greased sheets and flattened them to about ½" with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. 11 minutes, done, good. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This recipe has been a family favorite for a long time and I am so very glad that I was able to find it on your site, because in my moving the recipe somehow was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This recipe is more like a sweet biscuit. Not very sweet. The cookies come out a lovely festive color, but the dough is very sticky and hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I thought these were tasty, although my husband and kids said they were just o.k. I also added chopped pistachios to the mix. Thanks Mary Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
An interesting cookie, it started out sweet but the dough is very sticky and I ended up using too much flour in order to roll it out and it ended up tasting blah. Next time I may try using an extra pkg of pudding mixed with the flour for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good I did take others advice and I put in 2 tablespoons of white sugar. I didn't roll the dough I did put in the fridge for 10 mins and used a cookie scoop and dipped a glass in sugar to flaten the dough. I got 16 cookies when I did it this way out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States