Irish Shamrock Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This recipe is more like a sweet biscuit. Not very sweet. The cookies come out a lovely festive color, but the dough is very sticky and hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I tried these cookies and they were fab! I had to make myself stop tasting the dough. I iced them with the Sugar Cookie Icing on this website. The almond flavoring in the icing slightly masked the pistachio flavor of the cookies, but they were still very wonderful! I've already bought 4 boxes of pistachio pudding mix to be ready to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
An interesting cookie, it started out sweet but the dough is very sticky and I ended up using too much flour in order to roll it out and it ended up tasting blah. Next time I may try using an extra pkg of pudding mixed with the flour for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I thought these were tasty, although my husband and kids said they were just o.k. I also added chopped pistachios to the mix. Thanks Mary Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
awful cookies, too sticky to roll, maybe they should be chilled first, but don't bother! We patted them into rounds to bake. Pudding adds no flavor, very little green color and baking mix made them way toooooo salty. waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Excellent recipe. Easy to roll out, not sticky. Not too sweet, tastes like a butter cookie. Kids and older people loved them (and everyone inbetween.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This recipe has been a family favorite for a long time and I am so very glad that I was able to find it on your site, because in my moving the recipe somehow was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Not too bad and very easy. As another reviewer stated, they are too salty on their own and definitely need frosting. With it they're not bad at all. I tried french vanilla flavor pudding; not as good as pistachio. Might try chocolate some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Loved this recipe! Not overly sweet. When I made the baking mix using 2 1/4 cups flour, 1 T. bkaing powder, 3/4 tsp. salt, and 1/2 cup shortening, I had to use all of it to make a double batch of cookies firm enough to roll out. I prefer them without frosting or glaze. At a church social, these went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Made these the other day and there is no way you can roll out this dough and use a cookie cutter!! To save the day I rolled the dough into balls and baked them that way and they came out great. I love anything pistachio so I'll keep the recipe but maybe next time put a little frosting on them. But they're great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States