Irish Shamrock Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
too cute - going to make a trial batch this weekend (hesitant on the pistachio mix). If it's a hit with the roommates might make more for the party wednesday night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe, and the cookies were UNROLLABLE even after I chilled the dough for 2 hours (I got the tip for chilling from one of the other reviews which I decided to do b/c the dough was so STICKY). When the cookies were ready to eat, the first thing out of mine and my husband's mouth was, BUTTER!! They had no flavor other than the butter flavor :( VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I thought these were great and so did the friends and family I made them for. I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar as many recommended. Otherwise they came out great and were easy to make. Did anyone else frost them?? I frosted some and they were good and of course a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
wonderful cookie, they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Cookies taste ok but don't try to roll these out. I chilled and rolled with wax paper and still found it nearly impossible to cut out cookies. Instead I formed the shamrocks by hand. Much less frustrating and the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I loved that these cookies have very little sugar in them. I'm planning on trying the recipe again with different flavors of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This cookie is easy to put together- few ingredients. I didn't even bother rolling this out- i just used a mini ice cream scoop to drop the cookie out. However: Flavor was really lacking!!! A bit on the salty side, not very sweet. I attempted to improve the taste with the addition of a bit more sugar and almond extract. Still not enough. I would add a lot more sugar to make this more enjoyable. Cool concept (with the pudding)- needs tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These are really similar to a holiday favorite of my family. We do 1 stick of butter, 1 pkg pudding, 1 egg, and 1 cup flour then add 1/2 bag -1 bag chocolate chips. Roll into balls and then put a halved maraschino cherry on top and bake for 8 or so minutes at 350. The chocolate chips and cherry make the cookie plenty sweet and they have great texture. Also for Easter I have replaced the cherry with a dot of pink frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used margarine instead of butter, and I added an additional two tablespoons of sugar (for a total of three). The green wasn't as dark as I'd like, so I added about five or six drops of green food coloring. Great! I agree with previous reviewers who say these are a little salty, so it's a good thing that we like our salt! I think different pudding combos would be nice, too. Oh, and instead of trying to roll-and-cut them, I just dropped them by rounded teaspoons on greased sheets and flattened them to about ½" with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. 11 minutes, done, good. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love this recipe. My Mom made it for me growing up. She clipped it out of the newspaper. It is a little salty, but pistachios are salty too. SOMETHING VERY IMPORTANT TO DO: Use only 1/2 cup margarine (1 stick) or the dough will be far too sticky to roll out. My mom made this every St. Patrick's Day and m brother and sister and I all loved it. I don't know if the margarine thing is a typo or what. But 1/2 cup is what the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by professionalmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States