Irish Root Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This tastes like liquid baked potatoes in the best way. My 7 year old declared it the tastiest thing she's ever eaten. High praise, trust me! I left off the cheddar cheese and used chicken stock instead of vegetable, because that's what I had in the cupboard. Next time, I'll try it with the vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Phenomenal! I had to make some substitutions based on what I had but but the general flavor was the same. I used coconut oil as my cooking oil, chicken stock instead of vegetable, and threw in a few turnips I had. I also used milk instead of cream. Everything else remained the same. I will definately keep this in rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was delish! The only thing I can think of suggesting is step #5, I would have put that whole batch in that step back into the pot as is, with dividing and pureeing. There were a few chunks here and there, I could have used a little more with this recipe. But the flavor was over all wonderful. It was creamy (with or without the heavy cream) My family thoroughly enjoyed this very very much. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
While I find dishes that are not spicy bland, the people I served loved this soup. It is now on our family menu. The puree carries a good flavor, is not too heavily or exclusively potato, and keeping some solids in for the final product give it the substance of a meal instead of an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This soup is such a delicious comfort food that my family craves and I have to make it at least twice a month no matter what the season is. I've made it with both vegetable stock and chicken stock, and they're both good, although I slightly prefer using chicken stock. I double the yellow onion and celery to get more daily veggies in our diet. To save time, I don't remove any from the pot to puree in a blender. Instead, I use a hand blender to puree it while all of the soup is in the pot just long enough to puree it to make it look creamy and so that some potato chunks are left rather than pureeing until it is completely smooth, because we like to have some chunks of potatoes. Also, I start cooking the sliced baby carrots in a separate pot in some vegetable or chicken stock at the same time that I start cooking the onions, leeks and garlic in the big pot so that the carrots can cook long enough to get very soft before I add them to the pot after I've used the hand blender. I've also substituted half and half for the heavy cream and it was just as good while saving some fat and calories. One time, I didn't have any half and half or cream on hand, so I just served it without either and it was still good since pureeing it makes it very creamy looking and tasting. However, we prefer to have at least some half and half added. I think the leeks are what makes this soup so delicious. My kids love it, and it's a great way for them to get their vegetables in a healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I liked cooking this soup. However the puree procedure is WAY too complicated and long for me. I put the carrots and the potatoes in at the same time and cooked it. Then I pureed the whole soup. I serve this to my 4.5 yr old and my 11 month old sons so we do not need texture! I used an immersion blender to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was a GREAT crowd pleaser at my last family gathering! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good! I used most of these ingredients and substituted others for what I had on hand. It turned out very good (and very pink with the added beets)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This soup is flavourful, delicious and hearty and it was easy to make with food that I already had in my fridge and pantry. I did however have to substitute the veggie stock for a beef stock and I used homo milk instead of cream as that was all that I had but it still tastes great and makes a great soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rheannahb
Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used all the ingredients listed, but the preparation sounded way too over-complicated for a simple soup. I made everything in one pot - cooked the carrots with the potatoes after adding 4 cups of chicken broth (because I was out of vegetable stock) to the sauteed veggies. Then I used an immersion blender just enough to thicken it while still leaving some small chunks of potatoes and carrot pieces. Stirred in the cream last and garnished with a little cheddar and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States