Irish Root Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Fam loves it it's my fav potato leek soup recipe the only thing I do different is instead of vegetable stock I used chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by make_a_mess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this twice and my boyfriend and I love it!I agree with other reviews -- I don't think the heavy cream is not needed. It is thick and delicious without it (and saves you a few calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I love this soup and I will make more of it. Mise en place is important in this recipe so make sure you chop everything up prior to creating the soup. I will definitely make this again very soon (like tonight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was delicious! My husband is not a huge fan of white potatoes so I substituted one large sweet potato for two of the white potatoes. It turned out very well and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Used chicken stock and a dash of half and half instead of heavy cream and a blended with a hand mixer. It was a really easy recipe that produced a creamy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What a nice way to warm up on a cold day! We loved this soup! I reduced the amount of butter and substituted EVOO instead and at the end, when it was time to puree it, I just used my immersion blender because it was just so much more effective that way. Such a good soup! I shredded up some Irish chees to sprinkle on top. It was creamy, silky, and full of flavor. Thank you for the recipe. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Five stars! And I don't take those lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was very hearty! And excellent veggie soup for winter. I used 5 small-to-meduim red potatoes and one medium turnip. I left out the celery, too (because I don't like celery.)I also forgot to add the cream later, but didn't really notice its absense. Like everyone else, I found the blending instructions cumbersome. I ended up pureeing two thirds of the soup and then mixing it back together again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used all the ingredients listed, but the preparation sounded way too over-complicated for a simple soup. I made everything in one pot - cooked the carrots with the potatoes after adding 4 cups of chicken broth (because I was out of vegetable stock) to the sauteed veggies. Then I used an immersion blender just enough to thicken it while still leaving some small chunks of potatoes and carrot pieces. Stirred in the cream last and garnished with a little cheddar and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This soup is flavourful, delicious and hearty and it was easy to make with food that I already had in my fridge and pantry. I did however have to substitute the veggie stock for a beef stock and I used homo milk instead of cream as that was all that I had but it still tastes great and makes a great soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rheanna Holden
Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States