Irish Root Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This. Was. Awesome! I am lazy (and still have all my teeth!), so didn't puree any of it. This will be made again, and again, and...well, you get the drift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very delicious, my husband and my 9 months old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
It was delicious!!! Just added a little freshly grated nutmeg and topped with some sautéed swiss chard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this on St. Patrick's day, it was fantastic! Made it just as prescribed. The longest part was pureeing the soup. Everyone loved it. Will definitely keep this recipe handy on cold days when something hot and nutritious is called on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This soup was yummy! It reminded me of the soups we were served in Irish pubs on our vacation. While onion, leeks, garlic and celery were sautéing in stock pot- I cut up potatoes and carrots, put them in microwave safe bowl and placed them on baked potato setting. I added chicken broth to stock pot, then the potato/carrots from microwave which were now cooked, 2 chicken bullion cubes (dissolved), some pepper and some McCormicks Perfect Pinch Vegetable seasoning(love it for soup). Added the cream and use immersion blender to blend. Topped with a little shredded cheese. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
First off I encourage everyone to try this recipe. I've been making this soup for a year now. It's our family's favorite soup. I made it for my sister in law and she left with a copy of the recipe as did my nephew. He took 1 spoonful and asked for the recipe. I like the fact that is uses Vegetable stock. I'm trying to cut down on meat and salt. I had some homemade vegetable stock in the freezer. Also I don't eat white potatoes so I chose to use cauliflower in place of the potatoes. (I continue to use cauliflower) I made this recipe as easy as possible not following exact recipe. I did use my Vita-mix to puree all but 2 cups of the soup. We loved it. My husband and MIL who are heavy handed with the salt never even touch the salt shaker. This is a wonderful soup. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This soup is incredible. The flavors were rich and deep and complex and we just loved it! This will certainly be a family winter recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
wonderfully hearty, vegetarian soup. Can't wait to make it again---it was a huge hit in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Fam loves it it's my fav potato leek soup recipe the only thing I do different is instead of vegetable stock I used chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by make_a_mess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States