Irish Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Perfect cake - moist, flavorful - great sliced and topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was wonderful!! I made it for a Saint Patrick's Day party and everyone complimented me and loved it! I did however change the jigger of Irish whiskey to a jigger of Amaretto to the cake batter and I served it with a powdered sugar and milk glaze that I added almond extract to. Very yummy!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. A little dry. I guess w/2 sticks of butter, 6 eggs and 8 oz of cream cheese, I was just expecting it to be better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I haven't tried the actual cake yet, but the batter was AMAZING! I tasted and adjusted the amount of whiskey I used. I know I used more than the recipe called for, but I wanted more of the flavor. It is going to be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
GONE. GONE. GONE. This was delicious. I made it for a work St. Pat's Day party. Everyone complimented on it. I used nutmeg instead of mace. I used softened butter. I bought a little 2 oz bottle of Jameson Whiskey at Binny's. (Perfect for this receipe) One thing that should be in the receipe: Butter the heck out of the pan. I don't normally bake, so I didn't use enough butter in bottom & sides of the bundt pan and it stuck a bit. This was easy, moist and had great texture and I will bake this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am kind of let down by this recipe being as it is 5 stars and the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly with the only change being that I halved it and put it into a mini bundt cake pan. I was trying out a couple of recipes for St. Patricks Day. Anyway, the problem I had was with the taste and texture of the cake. It was super sweet, spongy like, and closer to a yellowish colored angel food cake in taste and texture. The cake was almost reminiscent of a twinkie without the filling. I was so expecting a dense and not overly sweet cake from the picture, which is what I really wanted. I also lost about 1/4 of the mini bundt cakes, due to tearing on the top. Although, that was my choice to make mini ones. The cake will rise about 1/2" above where the battered is poured so plan that when choosing a bundt cake pan size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
So easy, so smooth...I may add a little more Jamison (I love Jamison's and the hint of it made me want a little more to that richness) and perhaps a wee bit more mace but wouldn't make any big changes to is as it is a wonderful finish to a St. Patty's meal (make sure to make room for it) with a cup of coffee. It is however mouth-watering without changes and of all pound cakes I've ever made, it came out of the pan easily with a beautiful top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I had to make due with what I had on-hand but I believe it is the method that makes this recipe superior to other pound cakes I have made. Can't wait to try it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
LOVED it! To be fair, I did not have Irish Whiskey - so I used Jim Beam Bourbon Whiskey. Delish! After reading other reviews, I did cut my baking time by 5 minutes and I used nutmeg in place of mace. Moist, not too sweet with just the right taste of whiskey. Served it with Apple Berry Salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the best pound cake I have ever eaten. It was so easy to make and everyone loves it!! I will never make another pound cake because none could ever be better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States