Irish Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Thank you Grandma O'Grady for such a wonderful recipe (Grandma's are just the best cooks!!!), and appreciate you sharing it Maryann. This cake is just so rich and moist (although I guess any recipe that uses 6 large eggs and a cup of butter is going to be luxurious!!!). I actually choose this recipe as I needed to use up some cream cheese and loved the fact it was an newly published one. The only thing I will say is to watch the bake time, my oven needed less than the hour. Now that I have this wonderful recipe I plan to play around with all combinations of flavors...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! We substituted Nutmeg for the Mace and it still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
The best pound cake I have ever eaten. You can credit Mrs. O'Grady and her lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I give this 5 stars for taste! I wouldn't call this a pound cake though. It's too light. I made this in a sheet pan so I could cut it into bite size pieces for a chocolate fountain so maybe that's why it was too light. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe has such potential! After following the recipe exactly, I found this cake to be on the "dry" side. Also, upon tasting, I couldn't detect the whiskey at all ~ I was so hoping for a more prominent flavor trace of it. I will definitely make this again, however, next time I'll add maybe a bit more whiskey just to bring the flavor up a notch. Also, I may add 1/2 cup of heavy cream and see where that takes us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This sounds delicious and I was recently looking for pound cakes......Ive added this to my recipe box so I can make this too. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very flavorful and cooks up perfectly. The whisky flavor is not too powerful. The only adjustment I made was reducing the mace to a scant pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Oh my, sooooo good! I made a glaze with confectioners sugar, vanilla extract- and more Irish whiskey! Err, don't make the mistake I did and put it in a bundt pan. It almost overflowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Got great reviews at the party. I will definitely keep this in my go - to recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was sooo good. Moist and not a strong alcohol flavor but the added creaminess from the cream cheese was the main taste. Loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States