Irish Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Perfect cake - moist, flavorful - great sliced and topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was wonderful!! I made it for a Saint Patrick's Day party and everyone complimented me and loved it! I did however change the jigger of Irish whiskey to a jigger of Amaretto to the cake batter and I served it with a powdered sugar and milk glaze that I added almond extract to. Very yummy!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. A little dry. I guess w/2 sticks of butter, 6 eggs and 8 oz of cream cheese, I was just expecting it to be better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I haven't tried the actual cake yet, but the batter was AMAZING! I tasted and adjusted the amount of whiskey I used. I know I used more than the recipe called for, but I wanted more of the flavor. It is going to be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
GONE. GONE. GONE. This was delicious. I made it for a work St. Pat's Day party. Everyone complimented on it. I used nutmeg instead of mace. I used softened butter. I bought a little 2 oz bottle of Jameson Whiskey at Binny's. (Perfect for this receipe) One thing that should be in the receipe: Butter the heck out of the pan. I don't normally bake, so I didn't use enough butter in bottom & sides of the bundt pan and it stuck a bit. This was easy, moist and had great texture and I will bake this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am kind of let down by this recipe being as it is 5 stars and the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly with the only change being that I halved it and put it into a mini bundt cake pan. I was trying out a couple of recipes for St. Patricks Day. Anyway, the problem I had was with the taste and texture of the cake. It was super sweet, spongy like, and closer to a yellowish colored angel food cake in taste and texture. The cake was almost reminiscent of a twinkie without the filling. I was so expecting a dense and not overly sweet cake from the picture, which is what I really wanted. I also lost about 1/4 of the mini bundt cakes, due to tearing on the top. Although, that was my choice to make mini ones. The cake will rise about 1/2" above where the battered is poured so plan that when choosing a bundt cake pan size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
So easy, so smooth...I may add a little more Jamison (I love Jamison's and the hint of it made me want a little more to that richness) and perhaps a wee bit more mace but wouldn't make any big changes to is as it is a wonderful finish to a St. Patty's meal (make sure to make room for it) with a cup of coffee. It is however mouth-watering without changes and of all pound cakes I've ever made, it came out of the pan easily with a beautiful top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I had to make due with what I had on-hand but I believe it is the method that makes this recipe superior to other pound cakes I have made. Can't wait to try it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
LOVED it! To be fair, I did not have Irish Whiskey - so I used Jim Beam Bourbon Whiskey. Delish! After reading other reviews, I did cut my baking time by 5 minutes and I used nutmeg in place of mace. Moist, not too sweet with just the right taste of whiskey. Served it with Apple Berry Salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is the best pound cake I have ever eaten. It was so easy to make and everyone loves it!! I will never make another pound cake because none could ever be better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States